Besoin d'un coup de main pour du bricolage et du jardinage dans la vallée de l'Hudson, à env. 150 km de New York, USA

Country

États-Unis

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 132 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE: NOVEMBER 2021
    CLOSED for the cold winter ahead!
    Check back in April 2022.
    Safe Travels!


    CARETAKER APARTMENT NOW AVAILABLE FOR WORKAWAYERS!

    I am a busy, sociable, creative, optimistic mature female, continuing work on a small homestead with a variety of ongoing home improvement and repair projects. This is the first hosting for the 2021 season to begin June, and I will only be hosting helpers from the United States.

    There is some basic carpentry work, deck staining, fence installation, and fix it projects. Maintenance of grounds includes weekly mowing and edging, house painting touch ups and trim. Please message me about about specific dates available for late July & some weeks in August. I am considering hosting through September if your travel plans are that far out.

    There is a caretaker apartment on premise available for the workaway helper. It is in the final stages of completion with some basic plumbing and electrical left to complete. This is an ideal housing situation if you prefer privacy and independence to go out exploring the area, as you will be living in a small private almost finished studio efficiency apartment, not a shared space. Please read details below.UPDATE

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I live 6 miles outside of the groovy college town of New Paltz. If you are into rock climbing, hiking, and the mountains, check out Minnawaska Lake in New Paltz. You can also parachute from a small plane about 5 miles from here if you so desire this kind of thrill at Sky Dive the Ranch in Gardiner. From May through September, there are many local fairs and festivals, and free music and movies outdoors. Many coffee houses, bookstores and eateries in town, and a local theater for live performances.

    The town of Woodstock is 25 miles away. You can easily spend a day there in the swimming creek, (June-Sept) check out the art galleries, Saturday Farmers & Flea Market, browse the many stores and eateries.
    New York City is also a bus or train ride away, 90 miles and less than 2 hours. Either from the New Paltz Bus depot on Trailways, or the Metro North Train out of Poughkeepsie, where the train route is along the beautiful Hudson River on the way into NYC. The round trip ticket is about $ 50.00, but please check the bus and train website for exact fares.
    My zip code is 12515, which will give you a better idea of the distance to different towns and activities, and to New York City.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Some of the ongoing repairs and projects will be light plumbing installation and repairs. Carpentry work would include window trim, baseboard trim, rotted floor repairs, some exterior house trim painting and touchups.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    This is a non smoking ranch style home in a small community cul de sac of 50 homes with families, kids, pets, retired folks. There is wireless internet with a good connection.

    This is a great housing setup with a small studio efficiency apartment at the end of the house, totally private with your own bathroom and simple weekender style kitchenette. Refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, full sink. There is no oven or hot plate cooking. The apartment has its own private entrance and rear deck for your exclusive use. Private yard backs up to the woods. Many animals come to visit-groundhog, rabbits, deer, big boxer turtles in season.

    The volunteer hours are reduced to 12 hours per week as no meals or food supplies are included. If you are a more independent helper who wants to have more free time, or if you are a digital nomad, this could be a good fit. There is no kitchen in the main house right now, and doubtful that will be done this summer, so no meals can be provided for 2021 guests. We work 3 days per week, 4 hours per day, usually Mon/Tues/Weds for a total of 12 hours. I am flexible on this schedule if you work remotely. This gives the helpers a long weekend to enjoy the beautiful Hudson Valley and beyond, or even hold a part time job in town. With the short hours, I have been asked about local employment here. There is much farming in this area, and I can recommend several farms within a few miles who hire helpers every season.
    This is a country location so you would need a car.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    There is a small separate workawayer apartment at the end of the home, needing some finishing touches. You would need to be a general handy/DIY/you tube person. Please read the accommodations section.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    The camper or van could be up to 30 feet total length to park in the driveway.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 days per week, 4 hours per day





N° de référence hôte : 671469336959