Grass-fed beef farm in South-West France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 90 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.03.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We’re an American family with Antipodean connections running a grass-fed beef farm in South-West France. Our farm is in old Gascony in a sleepy departement called le Gers.

    The farm is run using a mix of old school methods and new ideas. Sometimes the neighbors think we’re nuts and other times they reminisce that when they were kids they used to sleep out with the herd. We make beef for the flavor – grass-fed and grass-finished. We raise Salers, rustic, old-school mountain cows that love our rich Gascon pastures.

    We have 72 hectares and a list of projects. We have 2 hectares of woods that need some lovin'. Some projects require the use of a power tool, which is always good fun.

    We speak English, American, Australian, some New Zealand and French.

    Our projects are not glamorous. The work that needs to get done is all for the benefit of our livestock and direct sale business. You could spend hours clearing fence lines or removing unwanted material around the buildings. We don't need a lot of help with the animals. They seem to handle their job nicely. We don't need help with cooking or cleaning. The farm would benefit from people wanting to make small steps to make this farm better for our animals and better for our customers. Also learn a few things about grass-fed farming. If you are this person, send me a message. Please include skills you would bring. This will help us see if you are a good fit for the stay.

    We enjoy visitors who get into what we do.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Projects on the farm can be

    Building new fences for the cows
    Maintaining existing fences
    Clearing the forest
    Chopping and splitting fallen trees
    Cleaning and tidying the courtyard
    Work on the fences for the chickens
    Welding
    Painting
    Building maintenance
    Laying down road
    Bring the tennis court back to life
    Fix and work on the cattle yards
    Move heavy objects

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a large studio apartment with bathroom, shower and kitchen. It's a peaceful space with views of the farm. It was "the tasting room" when the farm produced Armagnac. We've had many people stay there and really love it.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





N° de référence hôte : 665335662638