Help build a community from the ground up in rural Massachusetts, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 42 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    64.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Beautiful People!
    We are a budding homestead/farm/intentional community located on Nipmuc and Pocumtuc territories in rural Massachusetts. The dream is to create a space for folx to live and work together and to whatever extent possible live outside the traps of capitalism, xenophobia, and the general unhappiness of our culture. That, of course, is an ideal but it is the star that we navigate towards.

    Although we would someday soon like to be making a living off of the property, we currently do not make any money from the property whatsoever, so we are unable to offer a wage.

    Currently we have a large garden, a glasshouse, some small ponds we started building last year, a shallow well that runs dry for part of July and August (no worries though, there's a year round spring just up the road), and 95 acres of beautiful healing forest.

    For 2021 the big projects are a pounded tire and/or earth bag basement for the yurt to be moved onto and a small 10x20 cabin. There are many other smaller projects and we are open to ideas if there's something you particularly want to help on and it fits into our overall vision. We will need help in the gardens, help expanding the driveway, maintaining trails throughout the property, building decks for the three bell tents we want to put up both for workawayers and guests.

    Primarily the we I speak of is Me (Blue), Michael, and our pup Star Flower. I am a co-owner of the property, and the main caretaker, I work full time as a supervisor for the nearby state park. I love working with the soil and herbs, I am happy to share whatever I know or am learning including but not limited to carpentry, gardening, farming, tree felling, landscaping, herbalism, yoga, birth, meditation, menstruation and the moon, what its like living off grid, bus conversions, etc......
    Michael has been on the property for two seasons now and has brought SO much to the place, he works as a zipline and rafting guide at a nearby adventuring business.

    We have a rotating group of folx that come to stay for any length of time and expect to have more longer term folx there this coming season. We tend to be a group of people that are fairly weird, queer, and in love with nature. The property is clothing optional so if you're offended by naked humans, this isn't the place for you, its also not for you if you're racist, homophobic, sexist, or just otherwise unpleasant.

    Our living situation is rough and not everyone is cut out for it and that is okay, I want to up front about that so you don't have squashed expectations. At this point we do not have hot water or even running water. The electricity is minimal, though I hope to be able to expand it this summer. But if you're looking to experience what its like to be at the VERY beginning of the process of building up a property and you enjoy living closely with the forest, swimming in waterfalls, hiking through trees, kayaking in the nearby rivers and ponds, and hanging around the fire in the evenings with good people, this may be the spot for you.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn building, gardening, communication, off grid living, solar, rain catchment, learn to identify trees and other forest plants, and so much more.
    We are also passionate about dismantling racism in our community and within ourselves, examining privilege, and learning how to heal together.
    In the area there are also many museums, hiking, biking, kayaking, swimming, etc opportunities.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I ask for 15hrs/week in exchange for your spot to stay. This is less than most hosts and that is because I am not able to provide meals. Though we may often eat together and share food regularly, I cannot commit to providing food on a regular basis.
    We will do our best to give you work that fits your abilities and interests.

    Major projects:
    building a packed tire wall or earth bag wall for yurt basement
    Building a 10x20 cabin

    Other help:
    Garden, trails, driveway, cob oven, making the community space awesome, art, trail signs, and more

    Let us know if there's something in particular you want to do or learn and if we can accommodate we will!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Would love to practice my Spanish and happy to help with English

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    For Accommodations, we will do whatever we can to ensure that you have what you need. We will be setting up two bell tents (the ones usually used for "glamping") and we'll have bedding, an outhouse, and a space for you to cook. You are also welcome to bring your own camping accommodations and we welcome vehicle dwellers!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The town we live in is very rural and sparsely populated. However we are close to all the Berskshires has to offer. North Adams is 20 minutes away which is where MassMOCA is (coolest museum ever). Mount Greylock trails are closely, multiple state parks, and the southern Berkshires are less than an hour away - Tanglewood, The Mount, The Clark, Norman Rockwell Museum, Kripalu, tons of great hiking spots, and so much more. There Berskhires are gorgeous and I feel so lucky to live here!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We do not have any hookups but we can make parking spaces in the woods for you to park your home :)

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    As long as they get along with Star Flower our dog they are welcome!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 663956526994