mis à jour  

Rejoignez-nous dans notre beau coin de verdure en Virginie-Occidentale, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 1149 fois
  • Activité récente: 25 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Our place is very private and quiet. It has been said “It’s absolutely fantastic; the buildings are snug and wonderful, this homestead is a perfect little rustic hideaway in the Appalachian mountains." Need early risers, have an inner enjoyment of nature, enjoys rustic living. Our place has 21 wooded acres and 3 cleared acres.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workawayers can learn more about rural living, what is required at a homestead, how to grow and preserve your own food, beekeeping, and much more. Workawayers will also experience the beauty of the mountains of West Virginia. We go on sightseeing excursions at times for helpers. Hanging Rock Raptor Observatory, Sandstone Falls in Hinton where Lassie was filmed, The Legend of John Henry at Big Bend in Talcott. Also, there is white water rafting and ziplines. There is no public transportation in our rural area. There is the Amtrak Train line between NYC and Chicago IL with no transfers, our depot is Hinton. We pick you up.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Welcome Helpers. We are a family of 5 living in the Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia. Sue is the founder of the Homestead. Her daughter moved to the hollow later, then her husband, then 2 daughters. Our homestead consists of 3 cabins. (1) Sue's, (2) daughter & husband & daughters, and (3) a very-very small guest cabin. Also, a private upstairs room with private entrance.
    There are no city lights, and you can see every star on a clear night.

    We have a lot you can be involved in, knowledge to share, friendships to build, and opportunities for growth.
    Here are some of our daily routines and some projects. Helpers can assistance with these, but not written in stone and subject to change.
    Cooking/baking,
    Cleaning/organizing inside of the homes.
    Organizing sheds.
    Sewing/quilting, etc.
    General land upkeep: Mulch/compost, Mow grass, weed whack, pull weeds.
    Care for honeybees along with painting bee boxes,
    General upkeep,
    Mend chicken fence.
    Care for Mulefoot pigs
    Care for goats
    Feed/water cat and dog.
    Water house plants,
    Plant and care for perennial flowers.
    Plant garden vegetables then weed, cultivate, harvest & home-can vegetables (gardening April to fall frost).
    Water garden and fruit trees in dry periods
    using rainwater or river water.
    There are ongoing building projects of all kinds. Construction and home improve projects like prepping and painting the outside of the cabins and various other painting inside and outside and sealing projects.
    Clearing a trail for hiking.
    For Helpers this is done according to priority & situation at the time. A typical day might include all or limited aspects of the above. During a 7-day time period, 5 hours of help per day with 2 days off, is negotiable.

    Ongoing bucket wish list projects for now and years to come *️️️️️️️️️️ Build bird houses with pieces of accumulated lumber. *️️️️️️️️️️Build a dry stack rock wall from 150-year-old cut foundation rock.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are 3 cabins, and all are original one of a kind.
    * The guest cabin is VERY small, rustic, cozy and unique with hardwood floors throughout. The cabin has steps going up to a covered porch. There is a VERY small study/sitting room. The VERY small kitchenette has a dormitory refrigerator, hotplate, microwave, toaster oven and all utensils. We also provide basic food for your cabin. The bathroom has a tub with shower, sink, and toilet. There is a ladder going to an EXTRA small sleeping loft which sleeps one person. This cabin is used during warm weather only from April thru September and sometimes early October depends on the weather.
    * There also is a private upstairs room with an outside door. There is a partial kitchenette and staple food provided. There is no running water in this room at this time. We are working on this project and are still in the updrate process. Drinking and cooking water are provided. Bath facilities is shared in host cabin. (We are in the first stage with planning upgrade to this room)

    We are omnivores and cannot accommodate most other diets. We enjoy cooking and you are welcome to eat with us, or you may fix your own. If you enjoy cooking, you are welcome to share your creations with us.

    We share the land line phone. Bring your electronic equipment for the internet. We have StarLink. We pick you up at the bus station, Amtrak train station-,Cardinal line, or you can use your auto.

    There is an area which we use for campfires in the evening. We usually sit around & talk & eat s’mores etc.

    We do not have public TV reception of any kind. We have a flat screen and many VCR's DVD's, videos which you are welcome to watch. We have a piano, guitar, and ukulele which can be used with permission. There is a bike which can be used with permission. We have a very-very large selection of books about living off the land and many-many other subjects which are helpful for homesteading. On your down time you are welcome to read any of our books. We have a washing machine and clothesline for you to use. We provide bed linens and towels.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Qualifications:
    Reliable & self-motivated. Mechanical aptitude & carpentry knowledge a plus. Experience with animal husbandry & homesteading practices a plus. We seek people sufficiently interested in homesteading. Lets read, think & talk - this helps to improve the homestead, which requires patience, teamwork, cooperative and communication skills. Need helpers who like being early risers, have an inner enjoyment of nature, enjoys rustic living. Smoking & drinking are not permitted. We meet regularly in which everyone is expected to participate; this is a great opportunity to learn. Homesteading is not fot the faint of heart. It requires a certain strength of character to choose such a life.

    What else:
    We are not a typical American Farm. We have no fields and no farming equipment. We are not off grid. We are on the electric grid, however there is a generator for essential appliances when needed.
    Smoking and drinking or drugs are not allowed on our property.
    An open communication is the key to a successful experience, so please feel free to ask questions.
    We look forward to hosting you.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day, 5 days out of 7 days

N° de référence hôte : 13827354384d

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.5)

Échange culturel: (4.5)

Communication: (3.5)










Help on private Island in Upper Peninsula of Michigan, USA (Off-the-Grid)
Help with clearing and possibly horse care in a very beautiful area off the beaten path, Washington, Vermont USA