Help build a natural home upon an off-grid homestead, Slocan, Canada

Country

Canada

new host  

Enregistré comme favori 0 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

    Pas encore évalué
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.06.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    hi, my name is rü. i live with my partner kai and our 6.5 year old son indiana. we live in the backwoods upon an off-grid homestead an hour from Nelson BC. We are on year 3 of building our natural build home from the ground up. we hope to move in before the snow flies this year.. and there is much to do! Our build is a bit of an experiment after much research, and consultation with local experts. We have built a hardy round wood post and beam structure and we are now creating walls with vertical log walls with a mix of chip slip and natural plasters. kai and i express ourselves as artists, musicians, permaculture designers and homesteaders. We have experience in regenerative farming, food forestry, growing mushrooms, landscape design, architectural design, animal husbandry, natural building and more. we have a vision for creating regenerative culture and building and designing systems for 7 generation thinking.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are culture creators. We are living seasonally, locally - life authentically simple. Our home is beautifully immersed in nature. We are flooded by birdsong and wild creatures. The vallhalla provincial park is our backyard with amazing hikes and places to explore. Slocan lake is 15 mins away as well as weekly markets and happenings in Slocan and up and down the valley. I truly believe this is the best place to live in the world.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are seeking a man or someone strong and physically capable in preparing logs, lifting heavy materials (logs, windows etc.) to work alongside kai in our natural house build project. I (rü) am a small (yet strong) woman and i am finding i am at the limit of my capacity and i now want to help get myself and kai the support we need to have a livable situation come winter. This summer we will be finishing our vertical log walls, placing windows and doors and then doing some areas with a chip slip (clay, wood chips, straw mix) with a natural plaster on top.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    My son and i are so interested in learning a new language! I have traveled extensively and would love to bring this feeling of travel into our family through language share.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Our living situation is simplistic. Our family is currently living in a wall tent while we build, there is an outdoor covered kitchen area. we have a 5 man tent we could set up for you to sleep in, and once our walls are up we could move out of our wall tent and have someone move into that. Or you could always bring your own tent. There is shelter. We eat good quality food - local, organic, homegrown or wild crafted. I am a great cook. we eat mostly vegetarian due to our non-refrigeration situation currently.. but we do eat meat when we can and if it is of quality. I would expect lots of organic sourdough flat breads, dosas, eggs, vegetables and dal and rice kind of dishes. i ferments a lot of things and we have some milk goats so there is fresh raw goat milk everyday as well. our home has no cell service, no wifi and no electricity (except if we run the generator for tools). Slocan village (15 mins away) has a computer room and cell service. I currently wash laundry by hand.. which i may be willing to extend this service for someone if you are the right fit!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    on your time off you can hike, bike the rails to trails, borrow our canoe, fish, go to local shows or enjoy the weekly markets. We are also very connected and can help introduce you to other people.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    we live in the backwoods and there is space to park if you need it!

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    depends on the pet. we live upn a land co-op so dogs can be an issue, and it depends on the dog.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 657257441234