1 / 3

Join our family project creating a resilient and sustainable home in the Jura mountains, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 12 fois
  • Activité récente: 10 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Apart from my « day » job as a solicitor for a European Outdoor organisation, I am doing projects to update and renovate the house and the terrain around.

    My mother also lives in the house and so do certain of my children who are often on the move. We all speak English and are well travelled and used to spending time with people from around the world, we’re looking forward to meeting some more during the summer’s projects. We have a couple of dogs in the house: Samba and her mum Mona, two adorable long-haired hippie style sausage dogs.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The village sits in a valley at 1.000 meters high surrounded by mountains that go up to 1.600 meters; the whole place is in a Regional Park with forests and wildlife with lots of opportunities to explore.

    You can learn the basic skills required to build, plant, renovate due to the fact that we often have some electrical jobs, stones masonry, woodwork, tree planting, renovation... the list goes on and we'd love to share with you our experiences and techniques in these fields.

    The various activities (wood, stone, garden) that we perform in the house / garden are typical to the Jura mountains and I will be very happy to exchange with you on this topic and the history behind our habitat and building constructions.

    The food we process and eat is 100% local and the cuisine is French ... very much will be exchanged I ma sure on this cultural and historical aspect of French life as we eat traditional dishes most of the time.

    Furthermore, although the family members speak english, our native language is French and we will be very happy to pass it on to you as part of the exchange.

    Finally, the fact that we are 3 generations living in the house, means that we know quite a lot about our historical and cultural background which is open for exchanges and investigation; I have been "Maire" (Mayor) of my village for 12 years until recently which gives me a strong knowledge of cultural issues which I will be very happy to share for you to be able to discover the Commune and Département in a better way.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I am doing projects to update and renovate the house and the terrain around; I am therefore looking for a hand in activities such as rebuilding small walls, installing water recuperation tanks & supply, woodwork – I have a wood workshop -, gardening, fencing, planting trees, …. There’s always plenty of different projects going on around the house!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I live in a 250-year-old big house in the Jura mountains – France, in a village located 45 minutes from Geneva and its international airport. Food is as local as can be 3 times a day, there is a private bedroom, unlimited Wi-Fi, bicycles and kites (we love flying kites here) for you while you stay.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The village is just below a ski resort that offers summer activities such as hiking, mountain biking, a zip line and more. The Jura area has plenty to offer for outdoor activities and spending time in nature. Public transports is bus to train station (Bellegarde-sur-Valserine) once a day, or train to Switzerland at 5 km every hour that continues to GVA Airport.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a decent internet access and an office area available or a desk in the room.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is available space to park a camper van in front of the house on the pavement.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 628945159918

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)