Come and help us at our 17-hectare property and with our sled dogs in Ängesträsk, Sweden

Country

Suède

Enregistré comme favori 233 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We need help to care for our dogs and our homestead!
    That means you'll be helping out with everything from picking up dog poop to picking weeds from the potato land.

    We're a young couple with 24 Alaskan huskies and a 17-hectare (42 acre) homestead.

    We dream of becoming as self-sustainable as possible. By growing, foraging, and hunting for our own food we can reduce our trips to the grocery store as much as possible. So far at our homestead, we have a thriving vegetable garden, we make our own jam and juice from foraged berries, we fish and hunt, and raise chickens.

    We live our life based on the seasons, and that means come wintertime 100% of the work is with the dogs. We are training almost all year round, but in the winter it's all sled dogs all the time!

    It's a simple lifestyle, but you don't get anything for free. The satisfaction of putting in the work needed to get food on the table is amazing.

    We love being outdoors and being a part of the natural world around us.
    Hiking with our dogs or just sitting by the fire are a couple of the things we really enjoy. We spend a lot of time with our dogs and they mean the world for us. We have a stable kennel with young and old dogs that love running.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Experience what it really means to live a lifestyle in the Arctic with sled dogs and a budding homestead. Learn what it means to care for a large number of dogs, and enjoy a life spent outside. We like to bake our own bread, cook our meals from scratch, and do crafts!
    If you have craft skills that you would like to share with us or want to learn how to do a specific craft let us know! We have a fully functioning workshop with a lot of different tools that you would be able to use.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Among other things, we will need help with daily dog chores. This means feeding, picking up poop, and of course, cuddling dogs. It is critical that our volunteer(s) can learn to take on some of these tasks on their own so that we can be as productive as possible.
    We also need help with the general care and maintenance of our homestead. This means picking weeds, clearing pathways, tending plants, and making sure everything is in good condition.
    Helping with berry picking, making jam and juice, preserving food is a fun way to connect with the land, and during the fall season, it's a big job. We only drink our own homemade juice and eat our own homemade jam so it's important to us that it gets done.

    Working with sled dogs is not for the faint-hearted. It's a lot of work to tend to 24 athletes that all need care and love in their own way. But once you get into the rhythm of the chores and get a relationship with the dogs all of that hard work will be worth it. The love and cuddles you'll get when caring for the dogs is unbeatable. We work hard to make our dogs happy, and we hope our volunteers would share the same goal.

    We want our volunteers to become part of our home. This means taking part in cleaning and cooking. We do not buy meat, and only eat meat that is hunted or given to us. That means we don't eat meat every day.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Sami: Courant
    Swedish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodation that we can provide is a room in our house. We have a toilet in the house, but no shower. For showering, we have a wood-fired sauna in the garden (better than a shower, and the traditional Swedish way). We can provide Wifi, but it might be somewhat limited (no fiber cable). Meals will be eaten together, and we will share the responsibility of cooking and cleaning.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    During your time off you will be able to walk our dogs and explore nature. If you're an artist of any sort we have a wide array of tools on hand for different projects you might want to do.
    We will be able to provide pick up and drop off to the local airport/train station.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 622529464925