Help needed in sanctuary for disabled dogs in Galicia, Spain

  • Espagne
  • Enregistré comme favori 628 fois
  • Activité récente: 10 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    Hello animal-lover,

    if you want to be a volunteer in a sanctuary for disabled dogs and other animals and don't mind getting yourself dirty and work outside ... Welcome!

    We live in a small village 120 km away from Santiago de Compostela. We own a farm where we run this sanctuary. All animals are part of the family and not kept for financial purposes. All of them were rescued (from european countries and worldwide) and are therefore very dear to us.

    We - that are Gabriella (1972) and Gritta (1974), Tanja (1995) and Lars (1990) and Tim (1990). Gaby and Tanja are the Caretaker of the sanctuary , Lars and Omar take care of the constructions and Gritta has a full-time Job (Human resources) (including Business travels from time to time) and is managing the administative parts.

    Our friends think that we are crazy to do what we do, really animal lovers (because animals first, we next) and persons to talk , discuss and laugh together, responsible and reliable persons.
    but... sometimes we can although be difficult and strange.

    We are looking for a similar responsible and reliable person to help with housekeeping during the week and who can also manage things on her / his own when we are away. Also we are looking for craftsmen /craftswomen for some necessary Projects regarding areas for dogs or inside the House.

    Please be aware that we generally prefer to have somebody for a longer period of time and that experience with at least dogs is absolutely necessary. Minimum stay 1 week - up to 1 year possible.

    and please be aware that we are living in "the middle of nowhere". The public transport is nearly not existing. You can use a bycicle to drive to the next small villages (Escairon 6 km), but to go to bigger cities like Monforte de Lemos, Ourense, Lugo or Santiage- you need to drive a Car.
    There is always one car at the farm , but that is basically needed for work on the farm or emergencies. Exceptions are possible.

    For more details about the animals, pls check below. If you feel you are the right person, please contact us :-)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Beside getting more experienced regarding animals you can learn german.

  • Aide


    We have 90 dogs, 23 horses/ponies and 5 cats. Therefore you have to be an animal lover and must be experienced with animals (at least with dogs). This is absolutely essential to do this job!

    The Care taking job here is basically cleaning the sleeping places, cat toilets, going for walks etc..
    For craftsmen / craftswomen we have different Projects like building kennels, Electricity, Restauration of the chapel, and much more.

    Despite giving the animals a perfect home, We would also like to live in a clean and tidy place ourself:-) So we would ask you to keep your room and bathroom clean and also keep the house clean (together with all of us).

    Please be aware that half of the dog pack is paralised. Our dogs live inside the house, even the paralised ones.

    You should be responsible and 100% reliable since we really depend on you . We need to have somebody at home who we can trust and know we can leave in charge with everything. However, you wont be alone for more than a day.

    It would help if you had worked on a farm or at a vet's or an animal shelter before, so you'd know what to expect:-)
    You should also be able to give medicine to the animals when they are ill or go to the vet with them.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    single or double bedroom with Internet, shower and kitchen to share with all of us,
    Of course you can use all other rooms and facilities in the house. Normal Food will be provided. We are no vegetarians ( but of course accept Vegeterians and vegans), so if you need a special food or diet, please be aware that we cannot provide this (especially not vegan - sorry for this).
    Alcohol and cigarettes will not be provided and are not allowed inside the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    For sightseeing we propose the Canon do Sil and Mino, Monfort de Lemos and the camino to Santioga de Compostela

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    free Wifi

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    in front of the house or nearby on own property

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 617195615413

Feedback (2)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.0)

Échange culturel: (3.0)

Communication: (3.5)

Finca à Tenerife : Projets de permaculture et d'école dans la nature pour jeunes enfants, Espagne
Help with maintenance and gardening on farm in Malaga province, Spain