Help with DIY projects, painting, stone work and more in Aigre, France



Enregistré comme favori 12 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    Hello I’m lisa and welcome. I have a wonderful 1901 house in a rural village of a few thousand people. Located in the centre of the village, we board a river with excellent fishing and swimming, baker butcher supermarket bank etc. Lovely cycling and running routes and I have bikes - including one with a carriage that you can pack a picnic and head off. Local train to Bordeaux , La Rochelle, Poitiers all less than 1.5 hours. There is a massive garden including vege patch. Fall asleep to the sound of the river, go swimming in the river with the ducks! Take the boat out on the river.

    Its our holiday home so when we are here there is always plenty of stuff to do. Garden clearing, painting, stone work rebuilding a wall or putting in openings for windows , veg garden maintenance, laying new paths and the like.

    I have a very relaxed lifestyle, my house is your home. Plenty of drop in friends all the time for social apéros. I tend to run on a "help yourself" basis and dont ask for permission. Fridge and pantry is always full. You can make meals or have snacks at your leisure. Im more of a grazer than an eater- so you get the run of the kitchen and its stores to make yourself breakfast or lunch. We tend to take meals together- certainly for dinner which is about the only meal I eat!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I’d love to improve my french- I speak like a 12 year old. I’d also like to learn to be more handy so will help alongside you if you let me !

    I have lots of friends here and throw regular bbqs. Do the markets and brocantes. Visit the famous Poitou donkeys, day trips to Angouleme to see their graffiti murals and the like.

  • Aide


    DIY - it’s the time to paint 10 pairs of shutters , take out the avocado bathroom suites and replace with new ones , create a scullery, design a new garden, create willow hedges, build a stone wall, pizza oven, bash out window openings etc . So keen people required who want to learn new skills- and of course (as im only basically handy), if you have any specific skills to bring to bear such as carpentry, plumbing, stonework then even better! Wish list- I’d love to improve my french- I speak like a 14 year old.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I’d love to be more fluent in french

  • Hébergement


    Privâte room. Most cases private bathroom - or if shared- its only with one other room. You’ll likely have a floor all to yourself. Massive 30m square library full
    Of books and same size downstairs sitting room. Wonderful garden and heaps of activities in the village

    I’m a very relaxed host- fridge and freezer yours to raid whenever you want. I tend to exercise in the morning and thus skip breakfast but you can knock yourself out in the kitchen. Feel free to join me on my morning cycle, river swim and les Mills. I’m More of a 11-7pm worker. So breakfast and lunch will be make your own from the fridge - you can write down what you want me to buy if anything missing or I’ll give you cash to go shopping. We will , at least, have an evening meal together which we will enjoy in the dining room/ al fresco or tv. Or feel free to use the bbq outside and hang in the garden- plenty of nooks and hammocks and the like.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I have many friends with gites who have provided me with lists of all the local attractions. The local train station (Luxe) is 5 min drive away which runs to Angouleme and Poitiers. From there you can reach Bordeaux or La Rochelle within 45 mins. Lovely lakes. Great fishing at my place. Plenty of bikes. Cognac 25 mins drive or 2 hours hike for river cruises , kayaking , cognac tours. Jarnac offers the same and is closer.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Good wifi

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    You can park in the garden

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I do from time to time have a pair of free ranging ducks- they largely live on the river bordering the property

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 593224438262