Homestay in a small village and help with our water hyacinth project in Kerala, India

Country

Inde

Enregistré comme favori 47 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.09.2021

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our house is located 16 kms south of Alleppey town in a small village called Vaishyom Bhagom, in Kerala Backwaters. Being a homestay, guests get to stay with us and be a part of our family which helps them understand our culture, religion, festivals, family events etc.
    Since we started our homestay in 2010 I've been looking into options of using the weed called Water Hyacinth into some form of income generating source. Water Hyacinth was introduced in India towards the end of the 18th Century by the British Colonials as an ornamental plant. And now it has spread almost all over the country clogging our waterways. Finding a financial solution will help motivate the locals to harvest the weed, in turn cleaning the waterways.

    We welcome Workawayer to come stay with us and be a part of the project we are dying to start.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Projets artistiques

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Guests staying with us and being a part of our project gets to experience a village life while interacting with the locals and understanding the joys and difficulties of living in Kerala Backwaters. Workawayer will interact with the locals while working on the project which will help both Workawayer's to understand our community.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We do have a few projects that needs some help -
    1) Need help with housekeeping . As it is a home stay there are days which could be very busy and some days when there will be a lot of free time.
    2) Need help with building a welcoming garden where guests would love to spend more time.
    3) We have lots of wall space which need to be decorated therefore we need creative minds to let the walls talk with their art work.
    4) The backwaters is clogged with a weed called Water Hyacinth, we are looking for ways to develop it into a source of income which would help generate employment and help the community grow financially while keeping the water ways clean. We do have some ideas in mind and are in the testing state. We need help harvesting the water hyacinth from the canals or rivers and build products out of it which can be sold.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hindi: Courant
    Malayalam: Courant
    Marathi: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have clean and comfortable but basic room which will be shared by other workaway if needed. Will only share other same gender.

    For construction - Food will be included as part of the project, local home cooked food which will be prepared in our kitchen for us will be shared.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our village is well connected with local transports to visit Alleppey Town near, 13 century old Sree Krishna Temple is worth a visit as guests can experience and understand Hinduism, Chambakulam Church which was built by St Thomas - one of the 12 Apostles of Jesus, explore the backwaters by renting bicycles or book a day cruise or overnight stay on a Houseboat.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 583597845549