Come and help us in our little place in the jungle in Ko Lanta! Thailand



Enregistré comme favori 173 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    58.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 7 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

  • Description


    Hi, I’m Charlotte! I’m half French, half Irish so I speak French and English fluently (and a fair amount of Thai) and my husband Chakrit is Thai and speaks English very well. I love the jungle life, the ocean and living a comfortable but simple life. I'm very interested in decoration, architecture and a million other things but I've had to give up many of these because of how busy I am with the children, animals, garden and the rentals!

    We have lived in Ko Lanta for ten years. We are in Klong Nin, which is perfectly located halfway down the West coast, making it the best spot to get to the Southern beaches and to cross to the East coast. We are 10mn walking distance from the beach on a piece of beautiful unspoiled land in the jungle.

    We have two children; my son Alex is 15 years old and my daughter Indie is 5 years old. They are both outgoing and friendly! We have 6 cats and two dogs, all adorable. We have 3 houses and 2 bungalows which we rent mostly in high season. We built the whole thing ourselves and it’s always a work in progress! There is a lot of work and upkeep and at the end of a tiring high season, we love to have people around to give us a hand and be relaxed. It's my daughter Indie's summer break from March to May so she really enjoys the company and activities too. Alex lives his life really, he's a teenager!

    We started the volunteering experience last season and it was fantastic!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    It is green season and everyone is very laid back and relaxed, you get to see the real local life! And despite some rainy spells, Nature is at it's best and everything is green and full of flowers. Sunsets are amazing in low season too. The waterfall has water!!! The roads are quiet, no more crazy minivans, diving shop trucks and tourists all over the place! To sum it up, low season allows you to have a much more "authentic" experience of the local life in Ko Lanta.

  • Aide


    A couple or 2 friends is the best as it is quiet in green season and as much as I am a sociable person, I do get busy with other things too. A man would be ideal for a bit more of the heavy work. Having said that, I do it all myself but many of my girlfriends wouldn’t be happy with some of the heavy gardening duties! So unless you are a bit of an outdoor girl, this is not for you. Unless you are more into sitting my daughter Indie! I also mentioned I can host a family, but dates of stay have to be checked beforehand. If you are happy with your own company and generally enjoy being free and independent, then, of course you can come as a solo traveler.

    Here is a list of what we might need, we don't expect anybody to be able to do all of these things, just a few would come in handy already!

    - Raking the leaves, gathering dead branches, pulling weeds,trimming plants and planting
    - Jobs such as sandpapering, varnishing and painting (shutters, furniture, etc..)
    - Small building jobs such as putting up shelves or decorations
    - If you are ready to drive the pick-up truck, or one of our bikes, maybe some help with the shopping or school
    - Hanging out with the kids and maybe some help with homework or a bit of teaching or a funny art project
    - Feeding the animals (we have 6 cats and two dogs, all lovely!)
    - If anybody is actually able to do a bit of building (woodwork, cement or tiling), I can find things to do!!!

    I’m happy with three hours work per day (anytime really as long as it happens!), five days a week as I don’t offer food (unless you cook it!) and you’re welcome to tea and coffee. The minimum stay is a week. This offer is available until October 2020. All in all, I'm desperate for help, flexible and ready to adapt to alternative solutions, more hours work a day and then more days off, maybe "bigger jobs" but with free food included (that you cook!), etc.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant
    Thai: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Our place, and the island, are very quiet in green season, leaving you a nice choice of accommodation on our land. You might have to move from one house or bungalow to another if it is rented. All houses and bungalows are fully equipped and come with cooking facilities, filtered drinking water, a fridge, comfy beds, nice bathrooms with hot water and wifi! We also have a laundry room with a washing machine that you are free to use during your stay. you won’t need to share a bed or bedroom in 3 of my houses. The fourth is a one room bungalow ideal for a couple, friends or a solo traveler. You won’t have to share a house with us either!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our neighborhood and land are very green so you can take great walks in nature. Our youngest dog Sebastian would love to join if you're happy with that. He loves chasing monkeys! The beach is a 10 mn walk from ours, actually there are 2 beaches and the closest is tiny and beautiful and has a little resort that allows us to use the pool. There are still restaurants and bars open as well as all the local shops. In the mornings, between 6 and 9 am, there is varied, delicious and very cheap street food that you can buy for the rest of the day, We have 2 local fresh markets in our village with fruit, veggie and fish and green season is the best as everything is cheap and plentiful. There is also a small Tesco and a 7/11 down the road. All is within walking distance. If you take a ride on the scooter, we are close to the beautiful beaches in the South and to the East coast and Old Town.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Living room and kitchen
A bedroom
View from our fourth house on stilts on the sea in Old Town
Klong Nin Beach end of May
Sebastian our young dog
Batman our old boy!
Green season flowers
Another house faintly seen in the dark!
Low season sunset
Two bedroom house
The one room bungalow
Our 14 year old son Alex
Indie and one of our cats, Sandy
Our house, in dry season!

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 578199229735