Permaculture and organic farming family in Malmsbury, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 4 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    21.03.2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly family of four: two adults (Mum, Dad) and two children (Ethan, eleven years old and Rafaela, four years old). My husband is an academic, and I am a school teacher. We live in Malmsbury, which is a rural area that is one hour exactly from the Melbourne CBD by train (the train station is a five minute walk from our house). Malmsbury is a combination of farmland and native forest, and there are kangaroos and other animals in the area. We breed chickens and ducks using an organic, free range permaculture system, and maintaining our large (and expanding) flock of animals keeps us pretty busy.

    We have hosted many people in the past, and enjoy meeting new people. Help in exchange for meals and board in our comfortable caravan. Tasks include a combination of 'eco work' (making kombucha, making jam, building henhouses, gardening etc) and everyday housework, food preparation, gardening, home maintenance etc. We usually ask for around 20 hours of help per week. Helpers are included in all aspects of our life, including outings to swimming holes and farmers markets, and parties at friends houses.

    Helpers are provided with all meals and snacks. Breakfast and lunch are self-service, with a shared evening meal.

    We try to run an eco-conscious home, so helpers who are interested in this kind of lifestyle tend to be a good fit. We cook and eat primarily organic food, and you will learn how to manage poultry and grow veggies.

    Couples and families are welcome by arrangement. They give our kids new people to play with.

    Enjoy your travels!

    De

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers are welcome to participate in all aspects of family life. We have shared meals, go for walks, visit farmers markets, go swimming in local water holes and check out local wildlife.
    De (mum) is very involved in local farming activities, and travellers can learn a lot about regenerative agriculture if they are interested in this. Travellers will primarily learn about ducks, chickens and quail, and by the end of their stay will have an extremely good understanding of how to work with these animals.

    We have several references on the website Helpx. Travellers can check out what others have said about us there.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Travellers are asked to help with a wide range of tasks, and we usually try to balance the less exciting housework with more stimulating gardening, eco activities (like kombucha and jam making) and animal care.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Chinois (mandarin): Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I want to improve my Mandarin Chinese

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is in a very comfortable caravan.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are near lots of great towns. These are towns that were built during the 1860s gold rush. There is a lot to see and do, and good local transport systems. We have a lot of friends in the area who are doing interesting farming, building and eco activities, and we are always getting involved in these.

    Helpers will have no trouble visiting the nearby towns of Castlemaine, Daylesford and Bendigo (amongst others). It is also only a one hour train trip to downtown Melbourne either by car or train, and we can often provide helpers with transport to Melbourne.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    20 hours per week


N° de référence hôte : 572498756535