Help establish our off-grid, self-sufficient, permaculture farm in Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australie

Enregistré comme favori 14 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    26.09.2021

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young at heart couple (50ish). We traveled in the USA as Workaway workers for a year and are now back in Oz and ready to host.

    We were in tropical North Queensland, but when we got back from the States, we packed up and move to a cooler climate. We are now in Tasmania.

    We bought 10 acres of unimproved paddock, bought a bus, and plonked it in the middle. We have lots of animals and a strong interest in permaculture. We have a big garden (wanting to expand), a small solar set up ( wanting to expand), and practice rainwater collection (also wanting to expand).

    Our goal is to be as self sufficient as possible.

    We are off grid except for internet, but that is limited. Emails and browsing, no streaming or downloading available.

    We eat from our farm as much as possible. This means chicken, lamb, eggs, veggies in season, goat milk when we have it, etc. We are not able to cater for vegetarians or vegans, sorry.

    We are in a very small town. There is not much to do in town, pretty much nothing. We do some volunteer work in the community, and had a small craft gift shop and art gallery, which is currently closed, but hopefully opening again soon.

    We are crafters. We visit the (sort of) local markets on Saturdays. We also volunteer in the town op shop one day a week. We try to have most of our time on the farm with our animals, gardens and wildlife.

    We always have big and small projects going on. Come learn about our permaculture farm, help with the animals, make soap, milk a goat, enjoy the campfire.

    We are a small family hobby farm, not a commercial business.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Learn and practice permaculture skills. Learn to use basic tools. Learn some crafts. Learn animal care. Learn skills for off grid living. Learn gardening skills. Learn about our local wildlife. Practice English with world travelers. And share your skills with us.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help establish our off grid permaculture farm. Help with animals. Help with building or gardening projects. Help with craft projects. Nothing that can't be learned here.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be sleeping in a queen bed in a bus (RV). There are shared facilities in the bus, but the bedroom is private. We cook in the bus and generally eat together.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We go to the coast once a week to visit the markets, and are happy to drop you at an East coast beach or stop for a look. We have a couple of basic mountain bikes you can use. There are some local hikes and a nice river in town for a swim or kayaking in the warmer months (we have kayaks). Town is very small, and there is a history walk with information boards. There is a bus to the coast or to Launceston once a day, but maybe not on weekends. We go to the "big city" of Launceston once every two or three weeks.

    We are moderate drinkers. We are non smokers and prefer non smoking visitors. We are minimalists in the use of electricity, mostly using rechargeables. There is no TV and heating appliances like hair dryers, curling irons, etc will not work here. We are very conservative with our water. We sometimes process our own animals into food. We are unable to cater for special dietary needs.

    We are well traveled and love a good meaty conversation.

    Hope to meet you soon.

    Michael and Robyn

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 564749565926