mis à jour  

Aidez-nous avec nos adorables poneys dont la race est menacée et partez à l'aventure sur l'île de Skyros en Grèce

  • Grèce
  • Enregistré comme favori 3384 fois
  • Activité récente: 5 juin 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus



  • Description


    ***** We are fully booked with volunteers for June , July and August and have no availability now until September. Thank you.******

    Hi Potential volunteer

    We are Stathis born in Skyros, Greece and Amanda originally from the UK and living in Skyros for the last 22 years. Due to the pandemic and some life challenges we decided over the last two years, to host far fewer volunteers than previously and so deactivated our account on workaway . Over the last two years we have hosted predominantly past/ returnee volunteers who know us and we know them, which has given us time and space to reevaluate, reset and renew our volunteer programme.
    Now we are back and looking ahead positively to an exciting year ahead. So if you interested in helping a critically endangered species of pony and other rescue animals for a genuine non profit project on a stunningly beautiful island then please read below.

    Would you like to help look after a small herd of wonderful but critically endangered Skyrian small horse and other animals, then why not contact us to find out more. We are looking for volunteers who have experience with either ponies, horses, farmwork/yard work, or great DIY or gardening skills to join us .

    We are a totally non profit based project, dedicated to the care , ethical training, welfare, conservation, and education, of and about the critically endangered Skyrian small horse situated on the rugged but beautiful island of Skyros .

    You will be helping to care for our herd of 35 charismatic, highly intelligent, friendly Skyrian small ponies ( who range in age from 5 months old to 30 years old, 10 of whom are rescues) 18 cats ( all feral rescues) and 3 larger rescue ponies - 2 dogs ( 1 rescues) , 1 rescue goat and quite a few chickens.

    We love volunteers who enjoy simple down to earth tasks, are mature, positive, flexible, enjoy quiet time, dedicated, enjoy outside physical dirty farm work and have experience with horses/ponies or farmwork and are happy with the basic pleasures of life... We prioritise volunteers who have experience with equines , farm work or good handyman DIY skills and can stay for at least 5 weeks or more. We love hosting volunteers who are interested in long term volunteering stays.
    So if you are seeking to have a meaningful, adventurous, authentic and interesting experience please do get in touch.

    Our project started in 2006 and since 2009, we have enjoyed hosting over 300 volunteers , not just from Workaway but also internships, independent travelers, people via horsemanship networks, and other volunteer sites, a lot of our volunteers return yearly.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️We are sorry but we are unable to accept people with children as our accommodation is just not set up for this nor do we host volunteers under 19 years old . *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️( Please note the ponies are small, 10.2 to 11 hands, so we only do riding for children or people weighing 40 kilos or less)

    We are based on a small primitive farm in a remote Greek farming area which is near the sea, archeological sites and pine forest, on a traditional Greek island.

    If you want to be part of a genuine non profit project, and help us care for our herd , then please do get in touch and we will send you detailed information about our project and a volunteer application form.
    We really look forward to hearing from you and thank you.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Workawayers will get the chance to be in close contact to nature, the sea and forest / Greek culture. It is a simple basic life far away from the modern world . To understand the challenges of looking after animals 24/7 and 365 days of the year . We have incredible night skies with no light pollution, and an overwhelming quietness of nature and it is an extremely safe space to walk hike around.

    You will have the opportunity to learn about horse management and we will offer one ethical horsemanship ground skills training during your stay.

  • Aide


    Most of the tasks are centered around our herd of friendly Skyrian ponies , , watering, yard work, sweeping, pooh picking their fields, moving hay, filling hay nets, making up and giving our at need ponies their supplements, developing enrichment ideas for our track system, unloading hay deliveries, handling the ponies, grooming , picking out feet , mending fences etc . Depending on the time of the year also supporting occasional horsemanship projects and showing visitors around and possibly painting walls and stables etc. Sometimes there are some very specific projects like fencing , or fruit picking ( we have orange, lemon, apricot, fig trees), and pruning and if enough olives olive picking in late autumn. We also have some creative projects going on at times.

    For volunteers with real experience and who are staying for an extended length of time and have skills with ponies their are opportunities to get involved with equine agility, positive reinforcement approach to training, ground skills, liberty work, lungeing, long reining, etc .

    In the summer our volunteers are split into two groups .

    One group works the morning shift and the other the afternoon. Leaving either your morning or afternoon free to explore the island , rest, sit in a hammock, go to the nearby beach, explore the paths and walks nearby, read a book etc.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Greek: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    In the winter and colder months the accommodation is a very basic simple shared room with its own basic bathroom ( we do have hot water ) a small kitchen area ( fridge toaster kettle sink , and one small camping gas ring) and a woodburning stove . In summer and warmer months there is the possibility to camp in our small olive grove . This year we also have two new Wooden huts that we are trialing as volunteer accommodation in spring summer and Autumn.

    We provide a do it yourself breakfast ( muesli, porridge, cheese on toast, peanut butter, tahini, milk,) and a good healthy home cooked lunch. We can cater for vegetarian and non vegetarian people BUT WE can't cater for Vegans, lactose intolerant , gluten free etc its just too challenging , expensive and time consuming to cook for so many different types of diet . Thank you .

    The volunteers room is painted once a year and deep cleaned but it is then up to the volunteers who live in it to keep it clean.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Skyros island is still very traditional, with an unspoilt wild beauty whilst also being very safe as everyone knows everyone. Farm life is basic, rustic, simple and far far away from modern conveniences. The farm is in a traditional farming area close to the beach and pine forest. There is a taverna in easy walking distance , and a wonderful ancient archaeological site next to the sea in 10 mins walking distance.
    The main village ( 16km away from our farm), is vibrant and very beautiful and traditionally Greek and has good access to internet, two museums and many good cafes and bars. There is limited public transport and if you want to explore the island especially off season the best way is walking , borrowing a bike , hitching or hiring a moped or car. We will also gives you lifts when we are going into the village etc.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4.5 hours sometimes less sometimes a bit more, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 18279957924e

Feedback (59)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.7)

Échange culturel: (4.6)

Communication: (4.9)

Refurbish caravan, fix up gardens and watering of little tress nursery in Corfu, Greece
Besoin d'un coup de main avec nos chats sur l'île de Syros en Grèce