Help us build a tiny house, food garden, and more in Pahoa, Big Island, Hawaii

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 61 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    98.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! Joy and Kaleb here. Prior to COVID, we were travelling around the world trying to find a place call home. And finally we found a home closer to home, Hawaii. We moved to Hawaii about 16 months ago. And bought a home near the coast (within 1 mile away) in Pahoa, Big Island. The home is in a very nice, safe, and quiet neighborhood. The home is surrounded by nature and native plants. It is a smoke free environment and we would like to keep it that way. Some morning, you can hear the sound of the waves crashing into shores. Watch the rainbow after it rains. On a clear day, you can see the top of Mauna Kea in a distance while heading up to Hilo.

    Although the home was completely abandoned for 10+ years and was taken over by the jungle, we were able to bring it back to life. We uncovered the base landscape that was buried with the jungle 10 years ago. The back of the house has a beautiful rock staircase that leads to the uphill where you can stargaze at night. We planted some herbs and fruit trees around the house, where you can harvest and enjoy them. Everything grows so fast here due to the climate, so yard work is a must with consistency. Our chickens are cage-free and depending on their mood, they will grant us with eggs. We feed them 2-3 times per day. We plan to build a tiny home in our back yard, so we need some muscles to help us with heavy items. We also need help with DIY construction projects, planting food garden, house-sitting when we are gone, and general maintenance. We, of course, will be working along side the workaway up to 4-5 hours per day, 5 days per week.

    During our spare time, we love dipping in the hot ponds, snorkeling, hiking, attending game nights and Hula classes, and enjoying other outdoor ventures. You are more than welcome to participate in any of these activities. We would love to learn more about you, your language, and cultures during your stay. In return, we will give you a Hawaiian living experience.

    ***There are two different airports on Big Island; Kona and Hilo (ITO). Kona is over 2 hours drive (100 miles). Hilo is a 45 minute drive. There is a bus that you can take from the airport to our road. Here is the link with bus schedule and information: heleonbus.org/schedules-and-maps. The fare is about $2 (cash) one-way. You can also ask for a transfer.

    ***COVID protocols as of February 2022. Link to Hawaii COVID protocols: . For international travelers (with international passport), you MUST show proof of vaccination AND negative test result through Hawaiian approved partners. You must register and upload information onto "Safe Travels" If you are not vaccinated, you must quarantine. Do let us know your situation prior to coming.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live on Big Island where you will experience 11 different climate zones. Big Island has a green sand beach which is 1 out of 4 places in the world! We are located within a mile to the coast and are 45 minutes drive from the Volcano National Park. On a clear day, you can see Mauna Kea with the snow cap (depending on the weather). On Big Island, you can go hiking, snorkeling, dipping in hot ponds, camping, kayaking, enjoying the beautiful rainbows and waterfalls, swimming at the beach, and more!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    DIY help and knowledge, feeding chickens, building a chicken coop, yard work, food garden, general maintenance, trash run. You will be working about 4-5 hours per day, about 20-25 hours per week. We are early risers. The earlier we get up, more work can be done and you will have the time to enjoy the rest of your day.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Thai: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Both Kaleb and Joy are fluent in English and can help those who are willing to learn English. While Kaleb is fluent in Spanish, Joy is learning Spanish and would love to practice this with her workaway. Joy is also fluent in Thai.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A private bedroom with a shared bathroom. We cook at least twice per day. We can include you in our meals (2 meals per day) on working days. Other food, snacks, and drinks will be under your own expenses.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Besides working around the house, we play sports or venture off in outdoor activities, or have a game night with our ohana. You are more than welcome to join us in these activities if you choose. We will make sure you won't regret being in Hawaii.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a reliable internet connection inside the home. We have a spacious living/dining area, where an individual can work remotely on their devices or in their private bedroom.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There are two car spaces that could fit any size vehicle not bigger than a camper van.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours per day, 5 days per week.



N° de référence hôte : 563322693894