Help around the house, garden and restoration in Ilukstes Novads, Latvia

Country

Lettonie

Enregistré comme favori 46 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.03.2022

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello I am Silvia, I speak English, Russian and Latvian. The house you would be staying at is an old family house . The house is in the rural village of Eglaine in Latvia. I mainly need someone to make sure the house is clean so that it is not left vacant and run down as well as help with restoration. I am now retired and love traveling, gardening, reading, going to concerts and seeing art.

    The house is large in an untouched area with vast fields and clusters of forests surrounding it. The village is a 10 minute walk from the house. Animals such as deer, swans, foxes, storks, cranes and rabbits are often seen near the house and I have binoculars for bird watchers! During summer you may use the garden to grow anything you like as there are sheds full of tools. We already have a cherry, apple, plum and hazelnut trees in the garden as well as a range of berry bushes. During autumn you can collect delicious mushrooms from the surrounding forests. During winter it can get very snowy and you can enjoy sledging down the hills around the house. The house and attic is filled with retro relics, magazines, books and clothing.

    As this is a very old oak house, I collect water from the well in the garden and there is a old fashioned wooden steam sauna in the garden for washing which can be a treat during the cool winter days. There is small electrical stove and grill but also a very traditional built in oven and stove which uses chopped wooden logs for burning. There is an old fashioned furnace which is used for heating, this also uses wooden logs for burning. As you can see this is a genuine traditional country experience, and a true get away from the stress of city life. During night time you can see starry skies and animal sounds in the distance. I would like people to stay for longer periods as I am often not around. I have a car available for you to rent at certain times of the year. I will of course be able to offer meals when I am present but I can leave supplies for you when I am not around and the is a shop in the village too.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You can learn many new skills, I can show you how to grow vegetables, collect mushrooms and help teach you Russian, Latvian and English. You can learn how to be self sustainable. The folks in the nearby village mainly speak Russian and some speak Latvian which is a great way to learn these languages.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You may help clean, garden, chop wood, organise and restore parts of the house. I welcome people with any level of skills and quite relaxed about work. If you have skills in plumbing you may help me fix the water pump and install a shower in the house.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Latvian (Lettish): Courant
    Russe: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodation is a rather large countryside house with a number of rooms so I can host more than one guest.You can stay in tent at summer time and enjoy stars gazing at night.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You may explore the nature, watch animals, gaze at the stars go fishing in the nearby lakes. The nearby city of Daugavpils is eccentric and was the birth place of Mark Rothko which also contains the Mark Rothko art centre. There is in the village which takes you to the head city Riga. You will have lots of time to relax, work of your hobbies, plant what you like, you may paint, practice music, read and anything else your heart desires.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours a day 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 546411574397