1 / 5

Contribute to bringing back to life an old farmhouse while exploring the mountain area in Venabygd, Norway

  • Enregistré comme favori 21 fois
  • Activité récente: 18 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are two men/friends renovating an old mountain farmhouse, garden and outbuildings in the beautiful central highlands of Norway, halfway between Oslo and Trondheim.
    Much of the heavy carpentry is done but the garden needs a lot of maintenance, especially over summer, and painting outbuildings is something we will need a lot of help with.
    The area surrounding us is great for hiking and berry/wild mushroom picking.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Gudbrandsdalen has a rich cultural heritage, food culture and the mountains around the farmhouse are very accessible to hikers of all levels.
    We speak several languages between us and visitors can practice their Norwegian and English while here.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Some of the tasks require very low-level skills like scraping off old paint and using a paintbrush, or pushing a lawnmower.
    Others, like carpentry skills might range from basic to quite advanced depending on the job and your skills.
    Basic skills might involve sawing and hammering on recycled exterior planking to the old barns. More advanced skills might involve the ability to assist the owners in installing re-used windows in other outbuildings.
    At all times, you will be working alongside the property owners and using their tools.
    When we have bigger projects (building a new bathroom/new garage) that involve starting from scratch using non-recycled materials, we always hire our local tradespeople. You will not be involved in this type of activity.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Norwegian: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Swedish: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are two men who share the property and both share common interests in languages. We are not always here at the same time. Therefore, we cannot say which languages will be spoken at a particular time Cameron is a language and literature teacher and has English as his mother tongue. He speaks Norwegian, Swedish and would like to improve his French. Jan has Norwegian as his mother tongue, speaks English fluently, as well as Swedish. He has also studied German, French and Spanish, and likes practising all of these.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    100 year old farmhouse with several guest bedrooms, two large lounge areas, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. 5G wifi and flat lawn for those who want to pitch their tents.
    One of us is vegetarian and the other is a meat-eater and we will provide food for our helpers. For those who drink alcohol, you must supply this yourselves.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We have a two-setter van so can only host more than one workawayer if the others have their own transport

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have an excellent internet connection at the farm and workawayers will have access to our wifi. There are two work areas, one of which is a dedicated office space and the other which is in the lounge room.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 539817861861

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Help us with some renewals of our home and enjoy the nature in Vinterbro, Norway
Help with animal care, mostly horses and some in a scenic location, near Orkanger, Norway