Help on a farm in the Californian desert, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 59 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    01.12.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

 
Inscrivez-vous pour contacter cet hôte
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A desert oasis in the making! I’m converting an old, 1954, homesteader’s cabin out in the area known as “Wonder Valley”, Twentynine Palms, Ca. My animal menagerie stand right now as: 4 horses; three dogs; one kitty; 12 hens + a new rooster, and I hope to get milking and meat goats started this year!
    I’ve planted about 35 trees, (most all from seeds gathered and started here), that are now towering over my head after only 3-4 years!
    I have electricity, but no running water, and the water I use has to be hauled in my truck from town.
    There is a “dry” outhouse and in the summer, free hot baths provided by the sun. Some consider this place “primitive” camping, while many of my Airbnb guests love the quiet and the animals. They stay in a container (would be volunteer’s quarters), adjacent to the Horse field and can almost pet them from their cushy, queen sized bed or a cute trailer with large bed and kitchen ...not to forget the sunrise in their faces! Starry starry nights are common as are spectacular sunrises and sunsets!!
    For projects, I have: a new chicken coop 1/2 done; garden beds and seeds to start; cabin roof, windows, walls, etc.; yard work...farm stuff!

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Entretien / Bricolage
    Aide à la ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Living in the quiet, often solitary high desert of Southern California and with few modern conveniences, but adjacent (12 miles) to Joshua Tree National Park and many interesting sightseeing locations. There are many very nice people out here as our community, too.

  • Aide

    Aide

    For projects, I have: a new chicken coop 1/2 done; perimeter fencing; garden beds and seeds to start; cabin (roof, windows, walls, etc.); yard work...farm stuff!

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, but can body language my way through most others!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    30’ truck body/container with super luxurious queen sized bed, blankets, pillows. Or, a travel trailer with refrigerator, electricity and propane stove.
    I always have enough food to feed another

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Joshua Tree National Park, Death Valley, Palms Springs, Big Bear Mountain and lake. Hiking everywhere! But, need some transportation to get there. Walking or biking to these destinations is too far!
    Will need own transportation.
    *️I will ask for no smoking on the property, as I strongly despise the smell and it will trigger breathing problems. As smokers don’t realize how bad it and they smell, I can’t tolerate any in or around my structures and/or living quarters. People leave, but the smell doesn’t!
    Thanks!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Valerie
Guest quarters adjacent to Horse field
Moonlit outhouse
Cactus bloom
Overalls friends
Herb boat garden
Main cabin
View from guest quarters
Horse field
Backyard view
Chicken coop progressing
A typical evening

N° de référence hôte : 528342614486