mis à jour  

Help build our family home and learn about eco construction and organic farming in Calibishie, Dominica

  • Enregistré comme favori 71 fois
  • Activité récente: 18 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are Edwina, Justin, Towser (4) and Tristan (16 months) (plus two dogs). We are half South African half British and moved to Dominica shortly after Hurricane Maria devastated it as Justin was working for an NGO. We fell in love and stayed and in 2022 bought land. Building work has begun and we are also creating our farm on ur 1.76 acre piece of land in the heights of Calibishie - beautiful farmland on the edge of the jungle.

    We hope to bring earthbag building (cheap, good for the environment, earthquake and hurricane resistant) to the Caribbean! We have decades of experience in construction in Africa, Europe and the Caribbean. Come learn and enjoy beautiful and wild northern Dominica and we can show you the secrets tourists don't get to see.

    We keep bees and catch them, we build with earth and rock, fish rivers & sea and grow 'tings in this lush volcanic, rugged beautiful land!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    During your stay you will be able to learn alternative ecological construction techniques. You may also learn how to install a solar PV system (4.8kw).

    Justin has worked in construction for over 20 years, is most qualified as a plumber and is very hands on with building our earthbag home so you will learn about whatever stage of construction we are at on the project at the time, depending on the duration of your stay. You can learn natural beekeeping too.

    Any French person who wants to work on their English, Edwina can help and can also play guitar a little so happy to play with others.

    Our sons will challenge you with their energy - you will watch our children learn and we will all have fun together I hope!

    The island is home to some of the best hikes in the world, the second largest boiling lake on the planet, 9 active volcanos, 365 rivers, tons of waterfalls, unique sulphur baths, and year round whale watching . Finding adventure and connecting with nature won’t be an issue and we can sometimes take you on adventures as we often need to take a break!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Kids care/ entertainment and home help
    Construction (plastering/rendering skills) particularly desired due to installation of an earthen floor.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Italien: Débutant
    Portugais: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Huge double bedroom with epic sea views (inclufing whale spotting). We are within 2 minutes walk of an ATM and shops and 15 mins walk or a short bus ride of the best beaches in Dominica!! There is a bathroom with cold water shower and toilet of your own. There is WiFi on the veranda but it doesn't reach your room. See two photos on profile header with the view from the bedroom. We (will) have a light breakfast and light lunch and a larger dinner will be provided when you're home or on the building site.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Calibishie is the most popular tourist destination on the island for a reason - the beaches, amazing community and convenience of shops and restaurants. Stunning views from the bedroom and a relative degree of comfort not usually expected in workaway stays; sleeping in a double bed with your own washroom. You can get around the island easily as hitxh hiking or on buses to visit further away attractions (we can guide you).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have wifi with amazing views available at all times.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    25h a week

N° de référence hôte : 526415714679

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)






Come and take care of our place in Portsmouth, Dominica