mis à jour  

Help our family around our home in a small Decourcy Island and experience Canadian off grid life

  • Enregistré comme favori 62 fois
  • Activité récente: 19 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hi,

    We live and work on a small remote Gulf island called Decourcy Island. Touted as one of the most boater Friendly Islands in the southern gulf islands, Decourcy is an off grid only community with farm stands only and a beautiful provincial marine park that includes hiking, anchorages and camping as well as a beautiful sunny beach. Our family lives here full time with our three and sometimes four children.

    We take our kids to school five days a week (weather dependent) on Gabriola island, which has ferry access to Vancouver island as well as all of the other amenities.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If you come stay with us you will be immersed in a true west coast lifestyle that few get the privilege of living. If you like fishing, kayaking, boating, sailing, hiking and scenic views of the pacific southern gulf islands then this is your place. A peaceful quiet island with friendly faces, a self reliant way of life and an opportunity to experience life outside of the confines of your typical community. Come take a boat ride and maybe see some whales, seals, sea lions, eagles, otters and hopefully catch some fish or spot prawns while we are out. Learn to catch yourself many kinds of seafare and also how to clean and cook it properly. Learn skills If you want to learn how to live a true DIY lifestyle our island is a great place to start.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We have many projects underway including building a cabin, expanding our garden and tending to our chickens and animals. We are looking for someone who is handy, helpful and good with kids.

    We value safety and require that proof of insurance and photo identification be provided ahead of arrival. Also that workers sign a liability release upon arrival.

    Our main priority is building the cabin and multiple painting jobs that need to be done on the property as well as clean up and maintenance.


    skills that are helpful would be

    - wood working/ carpentry/ framing skills
    - basic knowledge of how to start engines
    - boating experience
    - knowledge of gardening
    - physically fit
    - cooking and cleaning
    - responsible and good with kids
    - a desire to try new things
    -husbandry
    -organization skills

    We are looking for help with property care, house cleaning, child care, gardening and or construction

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a large guest quarters which is a platform with a large outfitters tent that is fully furnished and heated with a wood stove. Capable of sleeping 4 people and equipped with a small outdoor kitchenette on the deck over looking the garden in the meadow. It is clean simple, dry and warm. Please bring some food to supplement your diet if you have a big appetite. There will be a fridge stocked with some food items for snacking, continental breakfast items as well as other food for cooking meals. Many meals will be shared with our family at Dinner and lunch will be made if we are at home. Workawayers will be responsible to cook one or two meals during their stay and also help with doing dishes some nights.

    The ocean is a short walk through the trees and several beaches are all walking distance. The Pirates Cove provincial Marine park has a roughly 4 km hiking trail and you are also able to hike around and through the whole island on the roadways. It is a great location for being outdoors and immersed in a coastal Canadian lifestyle.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in a great community that is respectful and friendly. A quiet place with the ocean just through the trees. A few neighbors around us that mostly keep to themselves. We would be looking for someone who is also quiet and polite and does not intend on smoking or drinking excessively.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have Starlink and it is reliable for people who need to access the internet. As long as you’re putting in the time to help us and the exchange is fair we have no issues with you using our facilities to access the internet.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 524892613295

Feedback (3)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Discover our lifestyle at our family sled dog kennel and busy hobby farm, near Lake Lebarge, Canada, Yukon
Help with gardening and some DIY tasks in Qualicum Beach, BC, Canada