Animal-lover welcome to our Alpaca farm in the heart of the Monts d'Arrée in Finistere, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 695 fois
  • Activité récente: 27.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    I am looking for a volunteer to help out on my 10 ha farm/smallholding with the maintenance of the farm, the house, the garden and from time to time with animal husbandry tasks.
    Since the recent death of my mother Annie I, Nina, am the only one in the household, apart from a menagerie of dogs and cats. Originally from the Netherlands, Dutch is my native language, but I am fluent in English speak reasonably good French. If you want to learn French, I would be happy to speak French with you, although at times I may have some difficulty expressing ourselves fully in French, and will probably end up speaking English.
    We have always been very animal orientated and our four dogs and four cats live in the house as part of the family. Furthermore I have 46 alpacas, as well as two ponies, a donkey and chickens. It is therefore imperative that a volunteer who comes here is an animal lover, as well as a non-smoker.
    Members of the public can visit the farm to learn about alpacas and the different stages involved in the transformation of their fleece into spun yarn and felt.
    I am fully vaccinated against COVID-19. For my own protection and that of my clients I cannot take volunteers without a valid pass sanitair (COVID vaccination passport)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Having lived here for many years, for those who are interested, I will be happy to share our cultural and culinary experiences of the Netherlands, France and Brittany. For those who want to learn new skills, I shall be happy to share my knowledge of animal care (I am a (retired) veterinary surgeon) and what I have learned myself about farming. I also practice the craft of wool transformation and would be happy to teach a volunteer to spin, felt, dye wool, machine knit, etc.

  • Aide

    Aide

    As this is a working animal farm, as well as a tourist attraction, there are chores to do around the farm all year through (fencing, mucking out stables, maintenance of paddocks and equipment, etc). At the moment the main priority is the garden, as well as maintenance and repairs around the farm.
    The garden is always in need of attention. Hedges and some trees may need to be cut back or felled. All of this is physical work, although not hard. I have petrol power tools and use tractor power for the really heavy work!
    At all times I can use volunteers with farming/gardening experience as well as building skills. I have some little projects that we would like to see realized. which will involve bricklaying, carpentry, plumbing, and plastering.
    Sometimes vyou can also be involved with the alpacas, and help with the training and husbandry tasks (clipping claws, etc) or with sorting out the fleeces, which is great and easy work for rainy days!

    So if you think that you may be able to help, please get in touch.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I like to exchange with volunteers on languages. I am interested in picking up the basics of other languages, especially Irish and Spanish

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The accommodation is limited to two guest rooms. If you are our only guest, you may use both rooms as a bedroom with separate sitting room. The smaller room is very light and has a beautiful far-reaching view over the valley. The second room is larger and has television with french and English channels. Both rooms have WiFi access.
    Bathroom and toilet are shared, but only a few steps away from both rooms.
    I will of course provide all the meals. I bake most of the bread and make my own yoghurt and try too eat healthily with produce from the garden, fields or hedgerows whenever possible. But I am not vegetarian and have little or no experience with vegetarian cooking. I am sorry but I cannot cater for restricted complicated diets. However, if a volunteer wants to share his/her culinary experiences and help out with the cooking, this would be greatly appreciated.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The house ls located in a beautiful area in the heart of the National Parc of the Monts d'Arrée in Finistere, where there is lots to see and do. The house is set on a hill, with far reaching views over the Aulne valley and the Montagnes Noires in the distance.
    The surrounding countryside has a wild beauty with both woodland and moreland within walking distance. The footpaths start at the gate of the property.
    The towns of Brest and Quimper are both only a 30 minute drive away, as is the sea with it's sandy beaches. Our town has a railway station, with several daily connections to the major towns in Finistere and to the rest of France via the high speed rail link.
    Due to this central location it is an ideal place for tourists who want explore this part of Brittany, be it by train, car, bicycle, on horseback or on foot. For volunteers without their own transport I can provide bikes or take them to the nearest rail or bus station.
    The region is rich in history, with traces of occupation dating back to the bronze age. The strong celtic identity and the revival of the traditional Breton music and dance is evident in the many village festivals that take place nearly every week during the summer months.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    internet connection adequate for streaming music, videos, films etc

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is plenty of space for one or more campervans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Only dogs who get on with other dogs, cats and lifestock. We would have to ask someone to leave if his-her dog chased our cats or alpacas.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Average about 4 to 5 hours per day; hours and times may vary from day to day, depending on the weather, visitor bookings, etc

N° de référence hôte : 519545539278

Feedback (26)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)