Rénovation d'une grange dans le Gers

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 57 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    29.01.2019

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, We are a French/English family of 4. I am Jenny (33), Im English and arrived in France for work in 2005, met Jeremy (31) and ended up staying. We have 2 daughters (a 2 year old and a newborn)We decided to settle in the Gers so about six year ago we looked and found an old barn to renovate. We are both interested in eco building methods so are using many of these (wherever possible) throughout the renovation, and also using lots of original materials and old building methods.

    We have 3 very friendly cats and a few chickens (for eggs). We also have a small vegetable patch which gets a bit bigger each year. In the summer we eat a lot of our own vegetables, and have a lot of BBQs.

    We live in a small quiet village, 5km from a small town. The town has all facilities such as restaurants and shops, takeaway, cinema, car rental. There is also a race track (cars and motorbikes) and a small airfield in the town. In the summer there are local fetes which have displays of 'course landaises'. We are on the edge of the Armagnac area, so on your days off you could also go wine or armagnac tasting.

    Being a French/English couple we are happy to speak either language, depending on your preference. And if anyone who speaks spanish wants to come and teach us some spanish we would love to learn another language!



    Sorry but we are unable to cater for people with food allergies.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We have not had many workawayers, but this is mostly because the few we have had, have come with a view to stay 2 weeks or a month, and have ended up staying at least 6 months, so we must be doing something right?!

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are looking for 1 or 2 volunteers, to work around 25 hours a week. We are ok for you to spread the work over either 4 or 5 days. Preferably to stay of 3 or 4 weeks, but we are happy to consider shorter or longer stays. As the bulk of the work is building (renovation), the volunteer(s) must be capable and enthusiastic about this type of work. No experience is necessary, just interest and willing. In return for the hours worked we will provide you with meals and accommodation. We have now finished the first house, so the next project is to renovate the adjoining barn into a 2nd house and a workshop.

    Alongside the building work, there is a small amount of gardening/help with the veg plot for anyone who is interested.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There is a choice of either camping, a house about 20 mins drive away, or possibly a caravan (we dont have one at the moment but are going to look into getting one).!

    We always had one before for our workaways and that worked really well, but since we have had a couple of years off from hosting to create our family we sold the caravan with a view to get another when needed)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are many historical sites around the area to visit, such as D'Artagnans (the three musketeers) birth village, cathedrals and churches, pretty fortified villages....
    A lot of gourmet food and fine wine is also produced in the area
    For nature lovers we are about two hours away from the Pyrenees and the ocean, but more locally there are plenty of beautiful walks to do ( we are on the path of the Compostelle route)
    Five minutes from the house there is the Paul Armagnac race track where many French and international events ( trucks, cars and bikes) are held.
    What we personally like doing in our free time is mostly cooking with a glass of wine in hand and going for walks (sometimes with the cat).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week.





N° de référence hôte : 493456127915