Help us with sustainable living projects in NW Arkansas, USA in the beautiful ozark mountains

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 90 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    07.05.2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband (55) and myself (44) have 10 partially wooded acres in NW Arkansas in the beautiful ozark mountains. We are 3 miles from a river and millions of acres of protected forest land. We are setting up permaculture gardens and we are in the beginning stages of setting up a commercial aquaponics system. We are also building a timber frame/cordwood house, our main project next 2 summers. We are interested in sustainable living and being stewarts of the land. We enjoy nature, fishing, canoeing, playing games and just hanging out around the campfire. We enjoy learning about other cultures and people. My husband smokes, outdoors only. I do not and would prefer non smokers. We have 1 cat and 1 dog also outdoors. Sometimes we have chickens. I would like to learn some more spanish. I can converse somewhat in french.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We enjoy nature, fishing, canoeing, playing games and just hanging out around the campfire. We enjoy learning about other cultures and people.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We ask that you work along side us and sometimes alone in whatever happens to be going on at the moment. In the next year or so we will be working on the cordwood timber frame cabin, the frame work is mostly done so summer of 2020 we will be working on putting up the cordwood. Tree guilds, hugelculture beds, and cleaning up the property and various other small projects are also ongoing. The work can be physically demanding. If you like to cook, help with that would be appreciated. We will be focusing on a cordwood house this summer. We are relaxed in our working style and do take plenty of time off. Summers here can be hot so we don't over do it in the heat, we usually do our outdoor work in the morning. Afternoons tend to be laid back and relaxed. We are quiet and relaxed in life. We like to read, watch movies, go check out local attractions. We work full time elsewhere Oct-Apr so at the moment we can only work on the property in the summer.
    Therefore we can only accommodate volunteers from May thru Sept.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We live in an rv while we are working on the house so we have set up a very nice guest lodge for volunteers. It is 16'x16' with 2 beds. Bathroom is located right under the lodge. It has a composting toilet, running water with sink and shower. We can have hot summers so lodge is equipped with A/C to make it more comfortable. Occasionally you may have to share lodging with others. There is room to put down another mattress so we could occasionally accommodate a small family.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There is lots to do in the ozark mountains if you like the outdoors. Many parks to go hiking in, several rivers in the area to canoe on. Including the Buffalo river which is considered one of the most scenic rivers in the country. Great trout fishing. We are somewhat isolated so there is no access to public transportation and walking to the nearest town is not possible. We are available to provide transportation occasionally if you want to go see local attractions. Your own transportation is preferred. We do have internet access but its not the fastest. AT&T, Verizon, and straight talk are the only cell phone carriers that will get reliable signal at our place but you can tap into the wi-fi. We like to eat and try different foods, we eat homegrown, local and organically grown food as much as possible, though we do like to try different local restaurants. We are not jews but we do only eat kosher. We can accommodate different styles of eating for the most part. You can take meals with us or on your own, however you prefer.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hrs 4-5 days a week.




N° de référence hôte : 489832873842