Beautiful tranquil home in the Bay area with epic views, California, USA



Enregistré comme favori 928 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    I'm an entrepreneur, running a holistic and mindful education company out of my home, empowering students to manifest top scores on high stakes tests like the SAT, GMAT, USMLE, and more. From the metro NY area, I'm a bay area transplant with a dream home.

    When workaways have stayed with me they typically reap the benefit of a beautiful place to chill. My space is serene with off-the-hook views, so it's a great place to land. It's sometimes a social hub, since friends of mine come by and visitors can get a full taste of the culture that you don't typically get as a tourist or traveler. I can point to off the beaten path places to go and various experiences, not typically found in a travel book or on a web site. I am in close proximity to San Francisco, Napa, Sonoma, Oakland, and Berkeley, all were able to soak in the Bay Area - at your leisure, discovering the area and all the beauty it beholds.

    I want to describe the workaways who have been an ideal fit for the place and at this point what I've come to expect if you want to stay here. I'm not accepting workaways who are US Citizens.

    The schedule for working with me is 5 hours a day of direct work on projects. In addition to this, since we're cohabitating, visitors share in the overall functioning of the household which includes keeping the common space clean (ie. sweeping, keeping kitchen counters clean, garbage out, dishes out of the sink and washed or put in the dishwasher, upkeep of bathroom - - things you'd do if you were living in your own apartment/home . You're also responsible for keeping your room clean, and typically you'd arrive at a clean room, and you leave it that way as well: clean sheets, fully cleaned room, and cleaned bathroom. Guests clean up after themselves and at no point, do I expect to clean up after guests/workaways.

    As far as the 'work', it varies. Some people come and do handyman work, and helping with things I just don't get to like spray painting metal chairs, treating wood on the cabin, changing fuses in my car, walking my dog, to defrosting the freezer, organization, or gardening. Others help with their own skill sets, like revamping my website, marketing, video work or helping me get the house together for an event - and during an event. This is very rare and if helping with gatherings is all you see yourself doing, plan on another workaway.

    Please note: there 'is' public transportation but it's definitely not convenient - - the bus is a good walk away but it can take you most places. Including the BART. An uber/lyft to the BART.

    What isn't a good match is if someone doesn't clearly communicate, follow instructions, or isn't detail-oriented. If a job is not complete (ie. cleaning) tell me that. A pet peeve is to discover that your job is only partially done when you said it was finished. I also want status after your shift is over so I know where we are with a project. It might be that the person doesn't know what/how to do something (please ask!) or that they aren't detail-oriented, but if you can't do something or know how to do something, I'm happy to share HOW to do it, rather than a lot of back and forth, being told it's done, but it hasn't been. As an example of what I mean: I had someone alphabetize a several hundred vinyl albums, which took them about 1 - 2 hours. I discovered when I checked it, they weren't correctly alphabetized and it took me another 3 hours to complete and fix work, and ensure all the albums were in the correct order.

    IF you don't like dogs do not stay here.
    Also, visitors who are coming here with good computer skills and plan to do computer work, should have their own laptop.

    In general: folks interested MUST state specifically what it is they'd like to do while here. I likely won't respond much if you send me a short note about your desire to learn English and explore the area. This is a given. Also -- many many nice people apply. Please consider what you want to get from the experience and what you'd like to contribute based on the opportunities listed here. Most important are:


    I am open to hosting those who are communicative and enthusiastic about the opportunity to share in cultural exchange.

    If however you are a massive introvert, a drifter, have a prison record (for something other than civil disobedience/polticial), a drug user or heavy drinker, asmoker, or are using workaway to save money b/c you are needing to get out of debt, those who have a chip on their shoulders, are self-proclaimed gurus, or are running from the law, do not apply to stay here.

    If you do apply for things that could be demonstrated by photographs or videos, writing samples, etc., then please snd links to those upfront.

    Having hosted quite a few workers, I know what typically works, and communication is key.
    If this seems like a good fit for you let me know!

    Each work away will have a 3 -5 day trial period.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    People staying here will have a lovely stay, I expect they may learn some new things, will contribute to having the house 'work' and help with fairly easy daily tasks. If someone has a project they're working on or need a way to be in the bay area, this is a great place to land. For some people it may become a great resume item!

    I'm an outgoing person and my home tends to be somewhat of a social hub. Socially in tune with the pulse of the Bay Area, while living in a home that is off the beaten path, peaceful with majestic views, and the ease to get into Oakland and San Francisco makes this an ideal destination for landing in the bay area.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide


    There are lots of opportunities to help out at my space. From cleaning to cooking and shopping, house help, walking my dog, organization, cleaning, bodywork/exercise support, help with events (this is very much NOT a common thing so please assume it's likely this won't happen during your stay, but when they 'do' happen, I need help - - also do not apply if this is all you want to do), landscaping, and garden work, to errands, helping out with home-office duties, home/handyperson skills, or building business, web/computer support, writing, video or photography skills computer programming (APs and online platform development), marketing, writing, and videography. Let me know about your experience with related skills and how long you'd like to stay. Send samples of your work if it warrants it.
    I am an entrepreneur from the East Coast transplanted to the west coast. I enjoy connecting with people, traveling, nature, dance, music, healthy food... 

    In one of the East Bay quiet residential neighborhoods next to one of the largest parks in the region (tons of hiking) and with sweeping views of the bay area. Slightly rural with the city 25 minutes away (and in sight!), plus super close to the rest of the East Bay, Napa, Sonoma, and North Bay - easily and quickly. It’s more like a spa getaway than urban or suburban living.  Easy transit to downtown, San Francisco, Berkeley and more.

    If interested, please be clear on how you feel you can contribute.
    I might ask for 3 references if you're doing anything more than general help or if you have no testimonials here.

    All people staying here unless extenuating circumstances, must like dogs.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Hebrew: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement


    Two spots available:
    (1) One furnished bedroom with a full bathroom with a shower and tub
    (2) A free-standing structure with wood burning stove, and electricity. The plumbing in the main house.

    I provide the following food only: fruits, vegetables, beans, pasta, rice, cereal, oatmeal, bread, eggs, milk, coffee, and tea. Should you need more beyond this, you'll need to communicate clearly upfront. I don't supply meat, chicken, fish, any packaged or pre-made food, nuts, chocolate, beer, wine, or cheese.

    What's worked best, when we eat the same things, is to share meals - - whether I cook or the workaway cooks. This prep is not typically part of the hours working since we're both doing it unless it's a special arrangement. I often cook soup and fritatta-like dishes.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    My home is in the east bay close to the largest regional park with miles of trails in nature. I'm also an easy trek to San Francisco, Napa/Sonoma, and other areas in the East Bay. The BART would be a $5- $8 uber/lyft ride away, unless you have your own car and ease to get places.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have hotspots in house and may be adding more.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    At least 25 hours a week.

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 489174243567