We are trying to reduce our carbon footprint and encourage diversity in nature in Bretagne, Frane

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 27 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple and moved to France from the UK in 2003 working in tourism and hospitality. Our three daughters are at Univertity but are still regular returners. We bought a 15th Century hamlet in 2002 and have spent over 10 years renovating the buildings and creating gardens amongst ruins and rubble.
    For our income, we rent out holiday cottages and can offer a cottage on site as accommodation for workaways.
    We are fortunate enough to have large grounds which we manage to promote wildlife and nature. We want to continue creating suitable habitats and have many projects in mind which will require extra help.
    We enjoy walking and cycling along the Nantes to Brest Canal and around Lac de Guerlédan and in the forest of Quenecan. All within 10 minutes of our home.
    We share our home with Chip, a cute Teckel X terrier type mixture of dog and little boy who likes to watch

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    S’occuper des animaux
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are from the UK but have lived in France for 16 years. We can help you improve your English language or if you already speak English, help you speak some French. We can give you a great insight into the vibrant culture of rural France and living and working in the countryside.
    We are trying to reduce our carbon footprint and encourage diversity in nature so we hope to learn from our helpers.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We require help with woodland management, garden maintenance, habitat creation and conservation on our 15 acres of grounds in Brittany France.
    The chores will vary with the season and should be interesting for anyone with a passion for nature and conservation in a variety of different habitats. We have two small lakes, oriental gardens, a stream, woodland meadow. You'll need to be fairly fit and enjoy fresh air.
    We are looking for someone who is quite practical but if you don't already have the skills, we can teach you how to use various woodworking and construction tools. We have good quality equipment and will be working alongside you.
    Our winter projects involve tidying and thinning out woodland for firewood, coppicing hazel and removing fallen trees from the stream. Also pruning overgrown shrubs and transplanting ash and oak saplings.
    We have bird nesting boxes, bat refuges and owl nesting places to build and put up and hedges to cut back before the nesting season. There is also a lakeside jetty to construct from wood and some pathways and swamp walkways to install.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation is in a self contained renovated courtyard holiday cottage. You will have WiFi, TV, private bathroom, sitting room and bedroom and kitchen. The cottage is heated, double glazed and well insulated.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are situated in the countryside on the banks of the River Blavet 10 minutes drive from Pontivy, a historic and cosmopolitan town. The area is well known for its walking, cycling and watersports with the Forest of Quenecan and the 10,000 acre lac de Guerlédan.
    There is easy access to the coasts and larger towns by bus from Pontivy with regular services to Vannes, Lorient, Rennes and St Brieuc. With France's integrated transport system we are less than 3hrs from Paris by bus and TGV.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have an office space with good wifi connection which can be used by workawayers.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have ample space with outside electricity point and access to running water and loo.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    5 hours / day, 5 days / week but very flexible


N° de référence hôte : 487598989343