Experience a tranquil existence offgrid in the beautiful countryside in Aragon, Spain



Enregistré comme favori 54 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description


    Please see calendar availablity in the first instance! We are not currently hosting.
    E-mails are checked every 1 to 3 days but otherwise we spend little time on this site unless activity seeking someone which lowers the host rating, so not an accurate representation.
    Welcome. We are Russ & Jan a happily married British couple living a tranquil existence offgrid in the beautiful Spanish countryside with our two dogs. Flash and Roxy. Roxy was a stray Spanish hunting dog who just turned up one day and never left.
    Our 10 acre olive finca whilst feeling entirely detached from the world is located only 3km from the traditional village of Maella in Aragon.
    Our farm is in a bird protection area, high up so we get the most of the sun and on a clear day the views stretch to the Pyrenees over 100 miles away. You can walk/hike/cycle and explore endlessly here. We are (slowly) adding to the original property to make the home we want for us, our animals and visiting friends/family to enjoy. Animals are a big part of life here, you would need have an affinity with them as we do.
    We think it's great that young people are getting off their backsides and exploring the world rather than sitting in a virtual one. It can be a daunting prospect as well, so it's important to us that you feel welcome, happy and rewarded at our home. My wife will treat you better than me and the dogs get treated better than everyone lol.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We embrace a life surrounded by and at one with nature. No fuss, stress or agenda. It's a great environment to be in.
    Above all, it should be a rewarding experience for both us and you.
    It's great learning to do things differently/thinking outside of the box, building with natural materials is very satisfying, tempered with patience and learning different techniques. Solar was especially important to learn about, there are so many little things really that go into making life easier and more enjoyable throughout the changing year.
    Being here you can develope an awareness, understanding and knowledge of how to get around and solve many things that confront you.
    We eat meat but would like to improve our cooking skills with vegan food, we need to improve our Spanish and alternatively should you be looking to improve your English then we can help there.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    (Currently) the physical challenge of the work that is a priority means we are not in a position to consider a single female workaway. We will consider a couple (M/F) though.
    First priority is replacing some of the roof (single level house) so not high.
    Removal of porch/ rebuild room.
    Septic system/soakaway already started, requires finishing.
    Turning a bedroom into a bathroom.
    Building a bespoke solid wood kitchen.
    Tiling floors.
    Construct a water balsa.
    Setting aside some of the land to an allotment, or to give it a trendy new term permaculture!
    Our aim is to blend the farm in with the beautiful natural landscape as best we can.
    General farm upkeep, landscaping numerous areas.
    Track repairs.
    Tier wall repairs.
    The priority of work changes month to month...I use the word priority loosely as there is always something to do but sometimes it's just better enjoy the day, there is always tomorrow lol.
    You would need to be reasonably fluent in english, have some DIY skills, ideally be competent with power tools. More importantly have enthusiasm and an urge to learn and pride in what you do.
    The various tasks will require a young(ish, fit individual (possibly within a couple) with a smile, good work ethic, sense of humour and pleasant disposition.
    25hrs work per week, flexibility on daily hours dependant on work/weather.
    It's not all work, important to have a laugh, beer and let your hair down occasionally.
    Finca life is simple/outdoor and all the better for it. We are completely offgrid and use gas/solar/generator for what we need. To make life a little easier we have a full size washing machine and fridge freezer which is essential in the hotter periods.
    We only have 3 rules. No drugs/politics/religion.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    Your accommodation will be a newly built natural stone building/room independent from the main house (10m away). This will be your own private/secure space for which you will take responsibility of keeping clean and tidy Interior floor space is approx 8m2 so reasonable room size. An outdoor enclosed hot shower is a few metres away.
    At times we also have the use of a close friends house for accommodation.
    Meals are flexible, generally breakfast /lunch/dinner, hot or cold depending on time of year. Should you wish to take an excursion then we will provide a packed meal/drink for you.
    You won't go hungry here.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Maella is 3km from us. A 10 minute drive/cycle or 30 minute walk.
    Our village provides a number of resturantes/bar's/cafe's/small supermarkets and a cinema.
    Various fiestas take place throughout the year, August is an especially great time for them.
    The village pool is handily placed at the end of our track 2.5km away. Open June-Sept.
    Maella has good public transport links by road.
    Caspe is 25km away and provides the nearest rail link.
    Alcaniz is 50km away, good road/rail links. Motorland is at Alcaniz, I like to go watch motorsports there from time to time, you are welcome to join me when I visit.
    Reus airport 110km/80mins away.
    Zaragoza airport 140km/90mins away.
    Barcelona airport 190km/3hrs away.
    Bus/rail links can get you from these airports to either Maella/Caspe/Alcaniz.
    The coast is about 70 minutes drive.
    On the finca itself I have a multigym, free weights, mountain bike, comercial cross trainer and ping pong table, snorkling equipment, dart board, board games for fun/recreation. I have tennis equipment as well and there is a court at a village further out. TV/DVD and 100+ films. Some large artist pads that my daughter left as well here if you like to draw.
    If you like to hike, the area here is great but for those who wish to challenge themselves a little more the Terra Alta mountain range runs along between us and the coast.
    Very good mobile signal on the farm, should you need it you may have some internet access via my phone's hotspot, otherwise various wifi areas exist in the village.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 479851284276