Permaculture homestead, Eco Village on Waiheke Island, NZ

  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Enregistré comme favori 639 fois
  • Activité récente: 06.02.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hi Im Ari. My partner Ben and I sailed to NZ from Hawaii on our Sea Steward Ship doing coral conservation work and helping out remote island communities. We were here In New Zealand to dodge hurricane season in the tropics when Covid hit the world and stopped us in our tracks. We decided to stay and landed in an eco village on Waiheke Island and are now living on and managing a permaculture homestead. Ben works as a solar engineer and takes care of most of the technical stuff like our energy systems, irrigation etc. We do our best to live lightly on the earth and give back more than we take .
    I'm an artist who is putting most of my creative energy into the land and the bountiful non commercial organic gardens.
    That's where you come in. We are looking for some extra helping hands to keep this place beautiful and keep making improvements as well as preparing for and planting our main garden for summer crops.
    Sometimes there is lots of activity here with big projects happening but right now it's pretty quiet. Our land is within a once denuded sheep and cattle range , now transformed over the last 20 years, by our eco-village into a reforested 400 acre bird and wildlife sanctuary . The peace and the connection with nature here is special and there are walking tracks throughout the sanctuary.
    There are several families that live in the eco village and we come together for working Bees to do maintenance projects ,share meals and occasional gatherings but we all live in our own sections .
    There is of course always lots to do here and we support flexibility of schedule and creative independence. I would prefer someone with initiative who is inspired to help where they see projects they would enjoy doing but am also happy to give guidance and work along side if that is the best way .

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Living in such close proximity to exquisite natural surroundings is very good for the soul and there is heaps to learn about a permaculture lifestyle and organic gardening. Since this is also an eco village community and a 400 acre wildlife sanctuary ,learning to live in community and in balance with nature maybe quite interesting for people who don't have experience with this lifestyle.

  • Aide

    Aide

    were looking for ideally a couple who are enthusiastic about being here and want to be a part of our world. There is room for inspired creative projects and there is also lots of maintenance work like weeding mowing and cleaning ,planting and tending seedlings, making compost. piles, feeding the chickens , Painting etc.

    We are absolutely not selling produce.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Our accomodation is an exquisite hand made round Cobb house just big enough for two to enjoy comfortably. Its self contained with a shower and kitchen so meals can be made in your own space when you're in the mood for that and we can share meals as well at our house..

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live off the beaten track as in not on a bus line so having a vehicle of some sort will allow for more freedom if you want to escape to the beach or town on your own. It can be done on a bicycle but the last bit home would be a climb. That being said we are only a 2o to 25 minute drive into Ostend and 10 to 15 min drive to the glorious Onetangi beach.with a few nearby shops and restaurants.
    The community of Waiheke has lots of events happening throughout the year. Its never dull on this island!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    we have space for a combi sized camper van

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 452599762866

Feedback (6)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Co-create a food sanctuary and food forest in a bowl of mountains in Glenorchy, New Zealand
Help on a small farm on the east coast of the beautiful South Island, New Zealand