Join us in the beautiful unspoiled French countryside to help with gardening and DIY, near Massignac, France



Enregistré comme favori 8 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    We live in a tiny French hamlet comprised of a farm, two holiday homes and us ( middle aged couple who are very much young at heart!). We are almost 4 kms from the nearest village with small shops and bar restaurant. So if you want to be immersed in the French countryside, this is the place for you. Summers tend to be hot and sunny whilst winter can be mild and damp or sometimes very cold. We enjoy the outdoor life such as walking and kayaking and of course working in our garden. Lorne plays guitar in a band so if you are missing music, we have a roomful of guitars, amps and accessories! We both enjoy cooking and drinking french wine. We are both native English speakers but also get by in French so if you are French and want to learn English or British and want to be eased into a foreign country with native English speakers, we could be the hosts for you. We have lots of books available too in many different genres if you prefer to spend your free time chilling with a book. There is also internet available though it can be a bit slow at times. We love living here because it is peaceful and beautiful but we also like to socialise and often have people over for meals or go to friends or to gigs in local venues. We also have two cats so you need to be a cat lover.
    What do we want from you? We run a landscape gardening business and so don't have a lot of time for our own garden. However, we are still in the process of trying to landscape and maintain our own garden as well as renovate our barn to increase our living space. So we need help with gardening and DIY. We love to travel ourselves when we can and to find out about cultural differences so we would love to chat with you about your home town ( even if you are from the U.K.). We like to meet new people and talk about shared interests. We would prefer a couple though single workawayers will also be considered.
    What can we offer you? A double, ensuite ground floor bedroom overlooking our garden. Nature all around you - many types of birds including many large buzzards, deer roaming freely, red squirrels and maybe possible to spot wild boar. Beautiful walks from our front door. Stargazing as there is very little light pollution. A refreshing dip in our plunge pool when the heat is fierce. Help with learning English. Crackling cosy log fires in winter. Learn something about gardening. Opportunity to try to speak French if you come out with us to shop and mingle with the locals. Play guitar! ( or tambourine, maracas or sing).
    Non smokers preferred.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    It would be a gradual ease into a foreign country for native English speakers or good for French speakers wanting to improve their English. We can teach you more about gardening and help to improve your cooking skills. We can show you French country life but also we love music so if you want to listen to music, play music or go to see music, we can offer you music.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Gardening - mainly digging and weeding but also hedge cutting and heavier labour. We can give you guidance and also work with you.
    DIY - general painting and decorating and possibly help with our renovation work - demolishing, building and creating new rooms in a barn.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We can offer a double, en suite bedroom in our home in the heart of the French countryside with breakfast, lunch and dinner. There may be wine and beer too!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Whilst there is no public transport here, we are often out and about in either the car or van so can either take you to visit places or drop you off to visit places on your own. If you walk out of the door of your house, you are immediately in the middle of the countryside so if long walks are your way of relaxing, this will be perfect for you. If you prefer, we have bicycles that you can use and our local leisure lake with some water sports and a man made beach is around a 20 minutes cycle away. This is the heart of French resistance country so steeped in history, including the martyr village of Oradour sur Glan which is around 30 minutes drive away. The city of Angouleme, is some 40 minutes away and Limoges around 50 minutes. There are chateaus to visit, lots of lovely restaurants a short drive away and did we mention the nature surrounding us? Just to lay on the grass at night and view the millions of stars, see shooting stars and comets pass by makes it a worthwhile visit!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 447437777856