Gorgeous mountain organic farm get-away in Floyd Virginia, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 117 fois
  • Activité récente: 2 déc. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    Gorgeous farm/homestead in Virginia’s Blue Ridge Mountains on 36 acres, mostly wooded, with trails, surrounded by hundreds of acres of woods. We have a big organic farm garden, orchards, and livestock -- not for public sale, home and guest/workaway consumption. Looking for farm/house sitters currently!
    I am a mom of two teenage girls, 2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 horses, and chickens. We live on the top of a small mountain in Floyd County, Virginia. The nature and landscape here are stunning. We have a large 100+ year old farmhouse with a private guest area, and a separate cabin at the back end of the property in the woods. We have creeks, natural mountain springs, and a big pond for swimming.
    I have traveled to over 40 countries, living in a few. I speak French (not fluently) and some Russian. I work in the nonprofit world in sustainable/regenerative agriculture and am a certified holistic health coach. I specialize in the nexus of food/nutrition/health, especially autoimmune diseases.
    We are seeking help with the gardening, outdoor work: weed-whacking, clearing established trails, caring for the horses and other farm animals, farm maintenance, and other upkeep needs.
    My older daughter will be away in France for the year and my younger very busy with school and sports. There will be a lot of alone time, so a good fit is someone who is independent!
    Deck board replacement construction is also needed for our cabin. So carpentry skills would be GREAT!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Floyd County Virginia is a unique community, holistic, organic, full of artists, musicians, a quaint mountain town, beautiful farms, landscapes, gorgeous mountains, and an amazing community. There is wonderful live music in our small town throughout the summer and year! There are music festivals, and the farm is surrounded by gorgeous nature and wildlife. It is such a peaceful, beautiful place! We have two horses, who also can be ridden, but only by experienced riders. However, everybody can love on them, and walk them to other fields to graze. It is heaven on Earth here!

  • Aide


    Farm/house/pet sitters wanted for various dates!
    Help on the farm: gardening, weeding, preparing garden beds, planting, harvesting, scooping horse manure, composting, cutting firewood, DIY projects, and general farm and farm house maintenance, and help around this big farm house: cleaning, small repairs, painting...
    At the cabin, the deck needs new boards put on -- so carpentry skills are welcome!!

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Français: Intermédiaire
    Russe: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I would love to practice my French, Russian, and learn Italian and Spanish!!

  • Hébergement


    Women stay in the house guest "wing" with private bedroom and bathroom.
    And for the guys, there is a loft one room cabin at the back of the property available, it is super cute and rustic, no running water, does have electricity (there are no fees/paying guests).
    Meals are not included, but I am happy to share in our eggs and farm harvests.
    It will be lovely to share a meal when possible with our guests, but that can't always be promised as schedules are busy. It will need to be flexible depending on the days, and other than those times, meals are on your own.
    Note: we are a gluten free house due to Celiac. The cabin can have gluten though.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    There are rivers and creeks for swimming, kayaking, incredible nature hikes, music festivals, live music in our small town, great restaurants in town, wineries, farmers markets, and there is the Blue Ridge Parkway!
    Also not too far nearby are two small towns/cities: Blacksburg and Roanoke.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I can host digital nomads, but the internet is only at the farmhouse, not at the cabin.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is no electric or water hook up.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I am happy to have friendly well-behaved pets. I do have 2 dogs, 2 cats, 2 horses, and poultry. The pet must not put my animals or family at danger. (Sadly I have lost several animals to guests dogs killing them.)

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Three hours/day

N° de référence hôte : 444225879211

Feedback (3)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)

Join our peaceful home and help with gardening, house maintenance and improvements in Portland, United States
Help needed at a sustainable off-grid homestead in North California, USA