1 / 5
new host  

Help with renewal of our family home and learn new skills in Laprade, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 7 fois
  • Activité récente: 28 juin 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four, Amanda (57), Michael (59), Daisy (32), and Peter (33), renovating a building, a future family home for Daisy and Peter, situated on 2.5 acres of land alongside the river Dronne, in rural South West France. We are looking for help with this project, and while prior experience is not necessary, it is essential to acknowledge that the work entails physical labour. Applicants must supply their own steel toe boots for on-site work, although other safety gear will be provided.

    In addition to participating in the renovation project, helpers will have the valuable opportunity to acquire construction skills under the guidance of Michael, who brings professional expertise as a bricklayer, plasterer, and concrete floor layer. Furthermore, for specialized tasks such as plumbing and electrical work, we enlist the services of local tradespeople. Presently, we are fortunate to have a dedicated team including a plumber, electrician, and carpenter actively involved in the project. This collaborative environment ensures that helpers not only contribute to the renovation efforts but also gain hands-on experience and mentorship in various aspects of construction.

    Accommodation options include two double rooms within our family home, which features a shared bathroom and two WC’s (please see photos of Bedroom designated to volunteers) . As for the main house, while its decor is in need of updating, it will be the next project once the outbuildings have been renovated. Nonetheless, we have already installed new utilities including a hot water tank, fuse board and kitchen appliances such as oven, hob, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer to ensure convenience. Regrettably, the house currently lacks heating and air conditioning, but these amenities will be installed during the renovation of the main house. Access to high-speed fibre internet and all household amenities will be granted to helpers. Additionally, a selection of bicycles are available in the barn for exploring the surrounding area. Transportation to and from the local train station, which has links to major cities such as Angoulême and Bordeaux, will be provided using our vehicle.

    Meals, including family dinners, will be prepared and provided, with weekly trips to the supermarket for food shopping, to which helpers are invited to accompany us. Evening entertainment often involves board games, and on occasion, we venture out for a meal together. We also have a small boat in which we row on the river Dronne to the local bar in the summer.

    Upon acquiring the property, we inherited four wild cats, now affectionately known as Socks, Fluff, Tails, and Dennis. We have assumed responsibility for their care, ensuring they are well-fed and friendly. However, it should be noted that the cats are outdoor animals and are not permitted inside the house.

    We document our renovation journey on our YouTube channel, uploading weekly videos. Therefore, we seek volunteers comfortable being on camera and having footage of them shared online.

    If you are interested in joining our project or have any questions, please feel free to message us directly.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers stand to gain immensely from our cultural exchange opportunities. Being situated within a 30-minute walk of the charming Aubeterre village, guests have easy access to immerse themselves in the local culture, exploring its picturesque streets and historic sites. For those eager to venture further, bicycles are available, offering a delightful way to discover the stunning countryside surrounding our home. Additionally, we're conveniently located just a 15-minute drive from Chalais, where trains provide connections to bustling cities like Angoulême and Bordeaux, presenting ample opportunities for further cultural exploration. Through these experiences, travellers can learn about the rich history, traditions, and way of life in our region, fostering a deeper understanding and appreciation of French culture

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are seeking assistance from travellers in various aspects of our renovation project. While prior experience is not necessary, we do require individuals who are willing to fully engage. Tasks may include painting, carpentry, gardening, and general maintenance work. Michael will provide guidance and instruction to helpers interested in learning construction skills. In return for their assistance, travellers will have access to comfortable accommodation in our home, high-speed fibre internet, and amenities. Additionally, we encourage cultural exchange and offer opportunities for exploring the beautiful surroundings of the South West of France.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We're interested in engaging in a language exchange to further our language skills. Our native language is English, and we are eager to learn French. In exchange, we are more than willing to assist others in improving their English proficiency.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Our accommodation comprises comfortable bedrooms within our family home, offering options of two double bedrooms with access to a shared bathroom. Additionally, our guests will have full access to all household facilities, ensuring a comfortable and convenient stay

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In addition to cultural immersion opportunities, travellers can make the most of their time off by engaging in various activities with our family. Board games and game evenings are a common occurrence, providing a fun and sociable way to unwind together. Moreover, we love to explore our local area, discovering new and exciting places while practicing our language skills. Guests can join us on these adventures, gaining insights into the region's hidden gems and vibrant culture. For those interested in contributing to our project's documentation, we are filming our progress and require volunteers comfortable with appearing on camera. Permission will be sought before posting any footage online.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We are equipped to host digital nomads with ease, our high-speed fiber internet ensures seamless connectivity, a feature that has been consistently reliable since its installation. It's worth noting that many of our family and friends frequently work remotely during their visits, attesting to the conducive environment for remote work.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We can accommodate Workawayers traveling in campervans by providing ample space to park on our driveway. Additionally, within a convenient 5-minute drive, there are local amenities tailored specifically for campervans, ensuring a comfortable and hassle-free stay. Whether Workawayers with campervans are passing through or planning an extended visit, they're welcome to make our place their home base during their adventures.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 425889476646

Photos

Feedback

Learn the life of a modern mountain farm in st silvain bellegarde, France
Taking care of a child, a dog and helping in the garden in the little village of Echiré, western France