Help us to build and create an ecological off-grid retreat in the midst of wild nature in Marmelete, Portugal



mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 558 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    94.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

  • Description


    Hello, Bom dia dear people.

    (please check needed skills below)

    Are you looking for a beautiful and inspiring place in the middle of the untouched nature of the Algarve/Portugal? - then you have come to the right place!
    We are Markus (mid 30s and from Austria) and Janina (late 20s and from Germany) and recently bought this beautiful 6 hectare + property.
    The property has no neighbours in sight and you can enjoy absolute relaxation and peace here.

    Some animals live with us. There are two wonderful rescued dogs and two cats, chickens and peacocks, goats and a fluffy donkey. The chickens bring us eggs every day and the goats are milked every day and we make our own goat cheese.

    There is already a small habitable house which needs to be renovated a little, two small streams, a big forest and hundreds of beautiful and old fruit trees.
    We are currently in the process of recultivating our beautiful land, already planted many fruittrees and have build a large veggie garden so that we can live as self-sufficient as possible in the future.

    Our medium-term goal here is to build up a small, sustainable tourism on this land, in the middle of nature.
    A place where everyone is welcome to find himself, to get a different perspective on life and the world, to decelerate and find back to their roots. We would like to offer retreats and activities in and with nature. For this reason we are in the process of cleaning, recultivating and making the land accessible.
    We would like to create a small microclimate, following the principles of permaculture and forest gardening. Therefore we have already started to create a forest garden on the slopes and are currently planning the water supply and especially the water production.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Do you want to bring out your creative side more?
    Would you like to work in nature?
    Do you love the inspiring company?
    Do you like the mild climate of Europe's south and the ocean?
    Would you like to know more about self-sufficiency?
    Do you intend to leave the system or would you like to learn more about this subject?
    Then what are you waiting for?

    You can be part of it from the beginning and actively contribute to create a wonderful place. We have not been living here for long and the constant process of how we and our property are changing for the better is a great experince.
    We are trying to create a place without any previous knowledge, where people are sustainable and respectful of each other and nature. We try to be as self-sufficient as possible.. We have, as said, no previous experience and it is always very exciting here :-)

  • Aide


    we are currently specifically looking for people with the following skills:
    ★Bricklayers, with knowledge in dry stone walls
    ★Gardeners, with knowledge of pruning and grafting
    ★Woodworker (small roof as a rainprotection, minor carpentry work, wooden stables for firewood)
    ★Landscape Gardeners
    ★Stair Constructor, we`d need to build some stairs out of naural stones
    ★someone who knows how to lay water pipes and optimize an irrigation system
    ★someone who is very well versed in the field of self-sufficiency
    ★Strong people who really want to be out in nature and are not afraid to get dirty to prepare everything for the winter.
    cleaning streambeds, collecting firewood, building rain gutters, securing slopes, eg

    Furthermore some tasks have to be done for the coming winter:
    Collecting wood from the whole property, make firewood (you should be able to handle a chainsaw),
    clean streams and gutters,
    cut trees and bamboo,
    new fences for the goats,
    clean up the forest (sticks, branches, dead wood,..)
    prepare veggie garden for next season
    and much more.
    In addition, there are the normal and everyday farm tasks, such as keeping animals, feeding animals, mucking out stables, watering the garden and food forest, small repairs to the house and stables and so on.
    So there is a lot to do here and you should definitely have fun working outdoors and be able to do physical work.
    If you are not clumsy with your hands, this is of course super great ;-)

  • Languages

    Langues parlées
    German: Courant
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement


    There are several accommodation possibilities:
    Are you travelling with a camper or your own tent?? - then we have a beautiful Spot for you, next to a small stream, surrounded by high, shady trees and even a laundry room with compost toilet and shower.
    You come by public transport? - Either you can stay in our personal campervan or Caravan, or in a very spacious and beautiful safari tent.
    You have the advantages of a private bathroom (shared with other workawayers) and a small cosy sitting area in the nature.
    We also have the possibility to accommodate you in one of the two bedrooms of our stone house. It is also our meeting point there (for meals eg). The house is for long term use only (from 1 month to 4 months maximum stay). For more information, please contact us.
    We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner wich is prepared by one of you.
    The laundry can of course be washed free of charge. Please bring your own towel and washing kit (please note that you can only use ecological and biodegradable detergents and shower gels).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our little paradise is located between Aljezur and Marmelete.
    It is 15 minutes by car to Aljezur and there are all kinds of shopping facilities. Lagos is 30 minutes away, the city is bigger than Aljezur and therefore offers a lot of markets, festivals, bars and much more.
    The beautiful reservoir (Barragem de Bravura) is 10-15 minutes away. The south and west coasts can be reached in only 25 minutes drive, where you will find the most beautiful beaches in Europe, clear wonderful surfable waves and the west coast is still very untouched and wild. It is a true paradise for nature lovers and surfers.
    A very popular hiking trail is in the immediate vicinity of our property.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a large flat meadow for campers and/or tents right next to a small stream, surrounded by tall, shady trees. We offer electricity and Wifi (which works sometimes good, sometimes not so good) on this site. There is also a washhouse with compost toilet and shower on this site. Additionally we built a small sitting area.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    approximately 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

explore with us the untouched beaches, just 25 minutes away from our place
Our beautiful property
better you like dogs. ;-) Gipsy and Sawyer are waiting for looong cuddles

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 425536571637