Assist Burmese migrants to get the basics they need in Mae Sot, Thailand

Country

Thaïlande

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 54 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    15.12.2019

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

 
Inscrivez-vous pour contacter cet hôte
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm an Aussie with a background in tech and business consulting. I'm now living in Mae Sot after selling my companies. I didn't intend to end up here; I just did... there's a lot of help that's needed here for the thousands of Burmese migrants seeking refuge in Thailand. While learning Thai for one year I'll be doing as much as I can to assist people in the community.

    During the last 9 months, I have connected with the Burmese refugee/migrant community and have realised there's a lot of work to be done. I've found that grassroots connections with families and kids have been effective in helping this group of people - getting the kids to school regularly; teaching them about dental hygiene and care because of previously poor dental education and care; teaching English; installing solar panels on homes to provide a renewable electricity source; providing protection and care for refugee kids living on the street....and so the list goes on.

    But I need help in doing more.

    For the right person, I will pay for you to get to Mae Sot, Thailand... provide a scooter, phone AND pay you a wage on top of the free accomodation. The right person is someone who speaks Thai and English, can stay for 6 months+, and is seriously wanting to commit to building something awesome in Mae Sot.

    (If you have the right skills and enthusiasm and 6 months doesn't suit, then I'd still love to hear from you and see what we could work out.)

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Entretien / Bricolage
    Autres
    Aide à la maison
    Travail associatif
    Aide avec les langues
    Enseignement

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I'm in daily contact with families, schools, and local organisations in Mae Sot assisting wherever I can. You'll get first-hand insight / experience with Burmese migrants and the issues that affect them. You won't be working with an organisation and so there are not restrictions on what we can and can't do other than our own moral compass. You won't be working on a shoestring budget; I have the funding to implement pretty much anything we want to implement.

  • Aide

    Aide

    The small things: Teaching English, buying items for the house, washing clothes, running errands, basic home help, assisting kids with homework, arranging items to be fixed or jobs to be done e.g. mowing lawn, rubbish removal, arranging transport etc.

    Establishing a routine has helped in providing some "grounding" to these kids' lives. Sharing a meal, a place to hang out to learn, play games, have a chat and see a familiar face. There's a qualified teacher who now comes a gives study sessions three times a week. Help with any of those things, finding out what the kids like to do, or what they're not so good at, will make a difference.

    And the big things: there's lots of ideas I have that I'd like assistance with that could benefit this community, such as develop a food card program, create an app to link individual philanthropists to individuals / families in Mae Sot, implement a remote teaching / tutoring service, design a program to educate refugees/migrants in dental care, build an app where foreigners can up-cycle their rubbish to be used by those less fortunate... so.. business plans, website design and coding, crowdfunding, etc

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, learning Thai

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your own room with king bed, wardrobe, mirror, fan with small desk and chair. Reliable and unlimited wi-fi.

    Other amenities include: lock box for valuables, lockable windows covered with bars, 24/7 camera recording outside and in common areas, piano / keyboard, lots of floor space, lots of drawing and educational materials, hot / cold water dispenser, 1 bicycle for staff use, large washing area.

    In the kitchen, there's a kettle, microwave, fridge, rice cooker, utensils and a large double gas stove, so you can cook if you want to.

    The house is located in a very quiet residential area.

    I also have a couple of Thai and Burmese assistants who can help you along the way with getting to know the ropes, Mae Sot and assist in translation.

    Breakfast, lunch and dinner to your liking :-)
    Thai, Burmese or Western cuisine

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I have a car and scooter and if you have an international licence then you're welcome to use the scooter as required, and the car depending on what you need it for.

    There's some great waterfalls scattered around the area, markets, and Mae Sot is right on the border which is great for Visa runs, or visiting Myanmar.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    20 hours a week

N° de référence hôte : 422347289599