Sanctuary for senior and handicapped dogs in Catrâo, Central Portugal

  • Enregistré comme favori 109 fois
  • Activité récente: 5 juil. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello, my name is Irene and I have a Sanctuary, a non-profit organization, for senior dogs, dogs who are sick and need extra care, and dogs with a handicap (and also other animals). It all started in the Netherlands with one little dog. In her memory, I started the Sanctuary and now, after more than 6 years, we bought a beautiful place in Portugal where we will continue helping animals in need and giving them a forever home and family.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Be a part of helping the animals in need, making their environment better, creating new things for the animals, learn more about our Sanctuary, how to take care of handicapped and senior dogs, enriching their lives, and feel a deep connection with the animals and nature.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Are you someone who would love to help build our Sanctuary? You can contribute to the goal of providing the animals - dogs, cat, horses, goat, and chickens - a beautiful place to live where they can be themselves, enjoy life fully, and have many beautiful adventures on the big land we have (around 25 acres).

    The Sanctuary's new home is in Catrâo, near Vale de Prazeres (Central Portugal).

    We're looking for people who truly love to be together with the animals and experience life together (without the need to train dogs or horses).
    There is especially help needed with:
    - Feeding the horses and cleaning their pastures
    - Creating a vegetable garden
    - Fencing
    - Painting
    - Gardening
    - Forest management
    - Planting (fruit) trees
    - DIY and building projects
    - Project management
    - Help with fundraising

    The volunteer hours are around 2-3 hours a day. Helping more during the day is always possible and very welcome.
    We are a non-profit organization, so we hope you'll understand that meals are not included. There is a separate kitchen to prepare your own food.
    We drive once a week to Fundao where there are several big supermarkets, If you like, you can join us then.

    If you:
    - would like to stay in peaceful nature for at least 3 weeks (a longer stay is even better if we have a good connection)
    - don't need a lot of people around you (when you're looking for a community, can't stay alone or with just 2-3 people, for a longer time, then this isn't the place for you)
    - have a calm energy
    - love to help build the Sanctuary
    - truly have a deep love for dogs, horses, and all other animals,
    - wish to spend not only time with the animals but also with all the work involved with running a Sanctuary and taking care of its surroundings and all the land.
    - would love to enjoy life together where both animals and humans can be themselves,
    Then I’m looking forward to hearing from you 🙂
    ~ Irene

  • Langues parlées

    Hollandais: Courant
    Anglais: Intermédiaire
    Portugais: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are a small wooden cabin and a big tent available. You could also come with your own camper(van). Electricity and water available. There is a separate building with a toilet, shower, and a kitchen area.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Lots of beautiful nature around, like Serra da Estrela mountain range, Idanha-Nova lake, and also nice places to visit, like Alpedrinha, Monsanto, Castelo Branco, Fundao and Covilha. When you like to do other things during the day, that's always possible. There will be a lot of free time during the day. Most of the work is early morning and end of the afternoon or some in the evening.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have enough space for campervans. There is electricity, water, and a separate space with a toilet, shower, and kitchen area.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Dogs are welcome, but they need to be very social with other dogs.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 421681474212

Feedback (1)

Feedback


Help with the garden and stay in a wooden cabin in Alcafozes, Portugal
Come, help and enjoy our beautiful Quinta with us, in central Portugal