Discover our community in Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, Equador

Country

Équateur

Enregistré comme favori 37 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    71.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Geovanny, and along with a fellow co-founder and owner David, we are the partners and visionaries behind the work we do here at the place. I was born in mainland Ecuador and moved to San Cristóbal at the age of 12. I have always had a special place in my heart for the Galapagos and it has always been important to me to help support its native habitat. After living and studying in the United States and United Kingdom, I realized that my life was meant to be in San Cristóbal. On January 12, 2001 the oil tanker Jessica crashed off the shores of San Cristóbal and the effects on our wildlife had a life changing impact on me. I knew then and there, on the beach of Lobería, that I was destined to dedicate my life to the environment and community of this island. In 2005 I was able to turn my dream into reality through the partnership with fellow visionary and co-founder David. Together we have been helping to restore our environment and support the community with the help of volunteers just like you.

    Here we hope to create and maintain a place where people can come and contribute to the fragile ecosystem of the Galápagos. We admire those who opt to come to the Galápagos to do more than just snap some photos, and instead desire to make a difference in the environment and community. Through activities working with our local communities, battling invasive species, and adopting to new challenges as they present themselves, we plan to continue to make a positive impact here in San Cristóbal. With the success of our results, we hope to set an example for those around us...near and far.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Getting to know the agricultural aspects of the Galapagos Islands is an experience not many travelers get access to. You will not only learn about living sustainably on a farm, but also get to experience local 'Galapagueño' culture and spend time with our welcoming volunteer coordinator, Pepe.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are very flexible and open-minded people, but do require our volunteers to be willing to do manual labor and have a positive attitude. Farm activities include planting endemic species, controlling invasive species, milking/feeding/herding cows, taking care of goats, working in the vegetable garden, and other farm-related tasks.

    We would also be interested in people with experience in filmmaking, journalism, animal care, and goat cheese production.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Italien: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am open to learning new languages and our volunteer coordinator, Pepe, can continue to improve his English.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Volunteer rooms will sometimes have up to 4 volunteers at a time, so please be mindful and respectful of your roommates. We are happy to accept up to 5 workawayers at a time. The rooms are separate from the main building and so are the shared bathrooms.

    We will provide clean linens for your bed upon your arrival. We also have a spacious communal kitchen where volunteers or staff can cook. You are welcome to take the fruits and vegetables that you cultivate from the garden. Otherwise, you will need to buy some additional food from town (rice, oil, cans). You can also drink the cow milk and cheese from the farm. Staff sometimes prepare meals, but we also expect volunteers to be able to cook and take care of themselves. We sometimes even make pizzas in our traditional wood-fired oven!

    We do not have Internet on the farm, but there is a free Internet 'infocenter' in El Progreso, which is only a 30 minute walk away. Otherwise, you can get a local SIM card and try to access the Internet from one of the nearby hills and enjoy a spectacular view at the same time! You can wash your clothes by hand or take them into town to a laundromat. Rubber boots and gloves are provided, but we do suggest you bring insect repellent and sunscreen. Smoking and drinking alcohol are not permitted on the hacienda.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our hacienda is located near 'La Soledad', a community with about 50 people. The next closest town is El Progreso, with a population of around 150. This town is about a 30 minute walk from the Hacienda, or less than a 10 minute taxi ride. The main port and largest town on the island is Puerto Baquerizo Moreno, with a population of 4,800 and a 20 minute taxi ride away. In this town you will find the airport, a port for travel to other islands, beaches, and many restaurants and shops.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 421322845239