mis à jour  

Ecological education, seed farming, and the arts in a commune, Virginia, USA

  • Enregistré comme favori 1090 fois
  • Activité récente: 24 mai 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hi travelers!
    We are a small, off-grid community and education center in rural Virginia focusing on permaculture and creative expression. We currently have 5 adults and 2 kids living here but usually have WWOOFers, Workawayers, or other guests visiting so during the busy season there's typically anywhere between 8-12 people here at any given time. We try to keep our visitor number at 4 max so that we can all feel connected and grounded. We call ourselves an intentional family and like to keep our energy intimate.

    Education:
    We're developing an outdoor museum throughout our forest trails that is focused on interactive, scientific models of sustainability. We are developing a self-guided tour throughout our community and are looking for more signage, illustrations, and beautification. we also work with university student interns both teaching and mentoring research projects in many different areas.

    Tinyhouse construction:
    we have had a very successful winter of building a tiny house (which we already sold) that turned out fabulous. we are going to continue building more of them using trees from our forest. this is a lengthy process that includes felling, milling, stacking, drying, and sanding boards, and then at some point putting them together to make another house.

    Farming:
    We have seed farming contracts to grow a variety of crops this year. We're growing many different varieties of tomatoes, melons, beans, okra, cucumber and squash. we could really use help in planting, weeding, harvesting, cooking, eating, preserving and seed processing.

    There are four other communes within 15 min drive, with whom we have a work exchange relationship, so there will be opportunities to connect with lots of other people in the area, through work and social gatherings.

    Our homestead is nestled amidst beautiful countryside, and is about 10 min. from a town and about 45min. to cities (Richmond and Charlottesville). The ocean and the mountains are both a day trip away.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    This is an immersive experience in a homestead that is highly integrated into a network of egalitarian income-sharing communes that are weaving the new paradigm, spreading the seed of the revolution, or at least recipes for vegan snacks. The local communes attract guests and members from all over the world, opening surprising cultural exchange opportunities that you would not typically see in a rural area.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    1. we are looking for people who want to learn! as an education center, we focus a little less on hard monotonous work and more on teaching, experimenting, and offering new experiences. we hold some classes and discussions, and rely on each other to continue learning and researching topics for continuing to contribute to the project and for personal growth.
    2. as a community seeking to dismantle some of the destructive side effects of capitalism, we aspire for deep connections with ourselves and with each other. so we have a regular practice of emotional check in, daily practice of shared gratitude, and weekly dedicated conversation in a heart-centered space.
    3. we are working on an Outdoor Sustainability Museum! We are revamping our outdoor museum, adding new elements that model ecological processes, model human impact on our planet, and explore solutions.
    4. Forestry: We harvest timber from our forest for building materials and for firewood. we need help with felling, limbing and debarking, mostly using hand-tools.
    5. Natural Building: We are close to finishing the clay plaster on our new straw bale home. we just finished building a cob rocket stove inside one of the buildings, and are working on creating outdoor kitchen spaces.
    6. Playground: beyond the zipline and swings we currently have, we are working on creating new activities and an obstacle course in the forest.
    7. Off-grid solar tech: we need help with developing and testing our solar system towards our ultimate grid independence. this includes solar power, electric car conversion, building experimental solar technology, and working with the rhythms of the sun and the clouds.
    8. we have regular capoeira workshops including drumming lessons, martial arts, and singing.

    In addition to all the exciting projects, there is still always a fair bit of domestic work to do, including cooking, cleaning, laundry, taking out the compost, stoking the wood-fired hot tub, cleaning the pond, gardening, and brewing ginger beer.

    Our Daily Schedule:
    Sunday-Friday we gather for breakfast at 8:30am and discuss work for the day and then work on projects individually or in groups until lunch (4ish hours). After lunch we have freedom to take time for ourselves and work on our own personal awesomenesses. Saturday is our day off and you are free to follow whatever schedule you wish. Although many of the projects here require some level of skill, most problems you might encounter are only 3 YouTube videos away from being figured out, and if not, we can figure it out together.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Hebrew: Courant
    Hindi: Courant
    Sign language (American): Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have various places to sleep: some houses, barn, vintage airstream trailer, sailboat, wigwam or a hammock. 15 acres of forest are available for you to play or camp in. We have two showers, composting toilets, running water, hot tub, bathing pond, some electricity (mostly solar). We eat almost all of our meals together, and take turns cooking . All of your food will be provided here. We stick to a vegan/vegetarian diet. We accept and accommodate people with various diets, including gluten free, etc.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Although we are a small community, we expect to host multiple workawayers at a time, and you should expect to be well integrated into the social sphere. please be willing to have open and honest communication with the people around you. We expect that volunteers will fully participate in the culture here. We do not have a culture of partying; excessive alcohol or drug use will not be tolerated. We expect all volunteers and members to keep the common spaces tidy and personal belongings in personal spaces.

    Here on the property or within walking distance, we have places to swim, play in the forest, hike, camp, and create. The surrounding communities host regular social events like dancing, singing, happy hour, potlucks, and parties. You could hike in the blue ridge mountains, which is only about an hour away, and the ocean is only two hours from us. There are local commune shuttles that you can use to get around as well.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    we have plenty of space, no problems there. but you can't drive into the forest, there's only walking paths, so you can't really park in a secluded spot.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    no one likes to think that their dog could possibly cause any trouble, but some dogs do and some dogs don't. we can't really specify, but we'll just say that we have free ranging poultry, cats, kids, gardens, pond, and a peaceful lifestyle. can your dog respect that? Cats and smaller animals are generally welcome.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4 hours/day, Sun-Fri

N° de référence hôte : 399371782671

Feedback (26)



Photos

Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)


































Help with some light tasks around our home and enjoy life right by Disneyland in Garden Grove, USA
Help me create an artistic farmstead on a 160 yr old farmhouse in Argyle, NY, USA