Come help with fall projects in gorgeous South Oregon, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 324 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.10.2020

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    864

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    65.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking for self responsible and motivated earth loving helpers as the wild emergent season rises!

    We are a family of 4 living in a beautiful community in Oregon USA. We enjoy good food (totally organic), vegetables and fruit from our garden, a bustling flow of community members and lots of outside work and play. We live on an incredible property with several out buildings on 7 acres and need help tending our land, forest, gardens and water. In our active home as we homeschool our child, we are Waldorf oriented people and are creating beautiful, functional, food producing gardens---we welcome your wisdom and willingness to help us on this venture.

    We are only 15 minutes from town (but ask that folks not come here to be a launchpad for venturing into town (Ashland) --we do not want folks transitioning back and forth from town life and country life - (though your days off are yours to do as you please of course). We encourage settling in to harvest the benefits of living on the land. We have a creek, spring, pond, orchards and lots of potential for creative expression and your unique skills--gardeners, natural builders, and handy people--we have buildings that always need TLC and maintenance, a cobb outdoor kitchen to complete, a pond overflow to redirect to orchards, trails and paths to cut, firewood chopping, remodeling a chicken coop, prepping a new area for animals including a second earthen manger and some fencing

    We have loads of projects and pretty much want you doing the thing you are most inspired by on our long list-though we also have specific tasks we need help with and expect solid participation in our minimum 5 hours work days.

    In exchange we will offer you 2 healthy meals a day on work days, offer you a wonderful place to live, share what we have, and enjoy community living and manifesting a dream of living more simply and more in alignment with the land.

    We have a flexible way of doing things but have learned some lessons along the way with other guests and visitors and do expect folks to come ready to fully participate--we need emotionally and physically strong and flexible people, good communicators, and folks who want to participate in a community experience. Much of what we need help with is physical labor, we are respectful of differing capacities with this but if you do not like to work hard physically, this will not be a good fit. We are extremely generous and provide an amazing home and experience--we expect generosity of time and energy and care from you as well. We do ask for a high level of commitment and presence during your "on" times, and we also support plenty of rest and recreation in your free time.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Préparer les repas / cuisiner pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aider dans une ferme
    Aider avec des éco-projets
    Aider à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Projets artistiques
    Enseignement

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Living in community, sharing family life, learning about our special bio region, then teaching your permaculture skills, or building or husbandry or gardening skills or being intimately involved in helping us with our daughter. We believe that living closely with others and developing the necessary skills to do this--communication, collaboration, flexibility and creativity-are some of the most important skills for all of us to be learning in these big times of change. All this said, we are grounded, busy people with solid jobs and responsibilities, we are not up for constant processing and require that your mental, physical, emotional health is solidly in place. While we are collaborative and love to learn and share culture and we respect many paths, we are not seeking healings or to be taught your spiritual practices and revelations.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Update on current projects:
    --managing grass, weed wacking, mowing and weed prevention strategies
    --Set a platform in a forest area for a new camping platform
    --get berry garden pruned and tied and help acidify blueberries
    --compost pig poop and get compost active
    --biodynamic preparations, mulching beds and keeping seeding lettuce, greens and prepping for winter garden planting, maybe some cover crops
    --patio stone set and cedar bench built
    --painting interior spaces

    These are skilled and semi-skilled jobs, we have limited time to oversee these jobs so self-motivated, quick learning folks will be best for our current needs.

    We love child friendly people as our daughter is unschooled and being raised in a "village" culture. We are open to parents with children but must ensure we are a decent fit in terms of parenting styles and routines.

    Please note: We are a "safe" house--chemical and wi-fi free--we do have wired internet access but no cell phone use in our home (cel phone use OK on the land but not during sleeping hours), no scented products, safe for environmentally/chemically/electrically sensitive person. We are omnivores and eat organic, local, sustainably produced food, follow Waldorf inspired child care practices (look it up if you are unfamiliar and you can also check out Janet Lansbury's website).

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Various options--yurt, apartment, cottage, 5th wheel...all really nice options - some with independent kitchens for occasional independence with food, some shared meals.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our town is called Ashland, Or, there is much to do and see in our town as well as in the vicinity if you love nature--Crater Lake, Mt Shasta, lakes, rivers, etc. as well as Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Ashland CO-op one of the best organic food co-ops in the USA, many amazing local farms...we are 4 hours South of Portland, OR and 5 hours North of San Francisco.

    Our closest airport is Medford (MFR). Hiking, cycling, music making, so much to do here.
    We are flexible and will support travels to local areas as you wish, it's an incredible part of the USA and world.

    We go early to bed, rise early, and enjoy a fairly quiet life BUT we also have an 8 year old so there's fun and noise and plenty going on- we love to cook, to laugh, to create and to balance work and play. We are foster parents and may have a baby or two around at any given time.

    We keep a steady flow of good people around us.
    I am a teacher and run personal growth workshops, you will be welcome to join in on these events as is appropriate. My husband is an architect and sustainable building expert so this is also an area for potential learning/exploration. We are "unschooling" our daughter so this is also a value and interest of ours. We have 5 dogs, flock of hens, and pigs. Your pets are not welcome, frequent drug or medicine or alcohol users, this is probably not the right place for you.

    We may be foster parents at the time of your visit, this means you must be able to pass a background check--please be sure this is possible for you; destabilizing a traumatized child would be a very much not appreciated action and could happen if we take you in and you fail the check.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Solid 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Beekeeping! (we have extra bee suits..come and learn or share your expertise!)
Main garden and view of the Siskiyou range
Local hike to creek and waterfall
One of our work parties gathering firewood from the forest
Fun and work together
Our pond with Koi
Good times in the winter!
Downtown Ashland, Oregon

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 394184277892