Bienvenue dans une communauté dans la jungle maya, Yucatan, Mexique

Country

Mexique

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 513 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    01.12.2020

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a group of mexican friends living in the jungle of Yucatán, we have been working since 2015 in a piece of land 6km away from the town inside the mayan jungle. We have built and develop an Agroecology, Arts and Crafts Community Center in which we are looking foward to exchange all type of knowledge and practices about permaculture, beekeeping, birdwatching, waste management, ecobuilding, bioconstruction and arts, through workshops.

    We have a permanent volunteer program = COLABORATIVE STAYS and from now on we are going to have a Bioconstuction Immersion to buid a tiny house to watch the stars and a kombucha bar. If you want more information about this, please write us a message.


    About the COLABORATIVE STAYS... It is important that you have availability of time, 1 or 2 months minimum, since you will have to fulfill specific functions with a high level of responsibility.

    The positions of the Collaborative Stays are:

    * Kitchen - 5 hours per day, from Monday to Friday
    - Coordinate the kitchen and cook with 2 helpers.
    - Define the breakfast and lunch menu (vegetarian).
    - Make the list of daily and weekly purchases of supplies.
    - Request of supplies.
    - Kitchen cleaning and supervision.

    *Tropical horticulture and food forest development - 5 hours per day, from Monday to Saturday.
    - Helping to mantain all gardens of the property.
    - Planting new areas following the agroforestry system.
    - Watering.

    // This activities does not exclude the possibility of collaborating in other areas, as long as the coordination of your area is solved. //

    The other working areas we have are :
    - Composting and fertilizers
    - Bioconstruction
    - Beekeeping (Apis mellifera and Melipona beecheii = native stingless bees)
    - Waste managemente: zero waste philosophy
    - Photography and graphic design
    - Birdwatching
    - Workshops with kids, teenagers and women of the town (temporary suspended due to the COVID-19)

    In this community we try our best at recycling, reusing and not generating solid wastes. For this reason we ask you not to bring plastic bags, filtered cigarettes, disposable batteries, packed products, tampons & pads, and any
    object that can easily becomes garbage.

    We are register as a Civil Asociation / Non-profit organization cause we are interested in keep on working with the community through free cultural projects for the people in the communities nearby. And through donations from NGOs, national and international organizations, volunteers, visitors, common people, government, etc. this is possible.

    Due to the inicial stage of requirement of our proyect we do not have the posibility to pay for the food for all volunteers. For this reason we are asking for a fee per day. This include all the food, 3 vegetarian meals per day with a variety of vegetables, fruits, cereals and seeds. We live in a really small town where there is no big market, only 3 small stores who sell food and it is way more expensive than the food we can buy in a bigger town or city. If you have a look at our feedbacks you will notice that the people is really happy and satisfied with food we prepare :)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Enseignement
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You will be able to experience living in a small community inside of the mayan jungle. You will learn many skills depending on your area of interest, we like to share techniques and knowledge.

    We all have different interests: politics, mayan culture, recycled art, cooking, yoga, music, arts&crafts, meditation, climbing, slackline, birdwathcing and fotography: so we can share what we know and learn also from you!

    We are near from some mayan ruins, many cenotes (natural swimming pools) and we also like to practice slackline :)

    We have honey and other products we made and from local people in a small shop we have.

  • Aide

    Aide

    As a volunteer you can participate in daily activities: cooking for everyone and cleaning the common areas, feed the ducks, weeding, watering gardens and edible forests and general maintainance.

    We also need help in different areas, but this activities depend on the season and in our monthly activity program.

    This areas are: gardening, pruning, building and finish details in buildings, beekeeping (harvest in season), waste management, recycle art and decoration with natural materials, web design, photography and graphic design.

    We wake up early in the morning (7am) and activites finished after lunch time (3pm). And we need help to water all gardens and edible forest before the sunset.

    Some teenagers in town are interested in learning other languages like english or french, so if you want to share and give some classes to them, they will be very gratefull.

    We ask you to bring working clothes, working boots and a thin long sleeved shirt; a water bottle; headlamp; swimming suit and pair of sandals.
    We suggest you bring the following:
    -Natural eco-friendly bug repellent
    -Sunscreen
    -Biodegradable soap and shampoo
    -Camera
    -Musical instruments

    We are interested in receiving people with initiative and disposition to realize physical and group work.

  • Languages

    Langues parlées
    English: Courant
    Spanish: Courant
    French: Courant
    Italian: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have 2 options of acomodation:

    - In town: we have a small house where you can sleep in a hammock, in a bed or couch. Is one big room to share. We have composting toillets, shower, kitchen and an edible fruit tree garden. We have wifi.

    - In the jungle: we have platforms where you can put a tent. Please bring a tent (we have some available), sleeping mat and a blanket. In winter some night might be a little cold. You can also hang a hammock in many spaces, make sure to bring a mosquito net. If you don't have any of this things, let us know cause we have some available.
    We have composting toilets, showers, solar energy, a big kitchen and dinning room. You can do birdwatching, walk in the jungle and practice slackline.

    Almost everyday we go from town to the land in the jungle, its 40 min driving. You can also go by feet, running or by bike.

    Our diet is mostly vegetarian. We only cook vegetarian dishes but we also eat meat of local farmers when we are in town.
    We have breakfast at 8-9am, lunch at 4-5pm and for dinner each one cook for themselvs or we eat the leftovers from lunch.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    In the town we live there is a beautiful underground cenote (natural swimming pool) and a big spanish castle in which we make different workshops every week, so you can join any of this workshops.

    There are many mayan ruins around like Ruta Puúc, Chichen Itzá and Uxmal. Public buses are accesible from the town next to ours.

    If you like swimming you can visit lots of cenotes, that are natural swiming pools. You can also go to the beach by public bus is 3-4 hours away. There are some natural reserves where you can go watch flamigos, in public bus around 5-6 hours away. If you like to visit Mérida, the biggest city of the state, is 1 and half hour away.

    Some teenagers in town are interested in learning other languages like english or french, so if you wanna share and give some classes to them, they will be very gratefull.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We do not have wi-fi. Just access to wi-fi in town but the capacity and speed is limited.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    It is not possible to enter our land with a campvan or motorhome, as the way in is a complicated dirt road.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We prefer not to accept pets as we live with 4 dogs, 2 cats and 8 ducks. Also we can not assure the safety of other pets in the jungle.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

  • ...

    Cet hôte fait payer des frais

    en savoir plus
    MXN100 a day for food (3 meals)

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.6)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)













N° de référence hôte : 393512641865