Ferme bio et fromagerie communautaires a but non lucratif dans le charmant village de Pedrovo, Slovénie

Country

Slovénie

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 69 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    19.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, would you like to experience a real farming life? Do you want to learn new skills and knowledge? Come and join us, help us and help us to develop our farm.

    The Homestead is a small-scale organic farm and goat and sheep cheese dairy located in a quaint old village of Pedrovo on the edge of the Karst plateau above the Vipava Valley in southwest Slovenia.

    We are Tom and Borut a male couple in their 30s (36 and 38 yo). We bought the 150 years old stone house with some land 10 years ago and started with renovation and restoration on the house and land. Borut is a biologist working as a Park Ranger in nearby Nature Park. Tom is an economist who used to run a youth hostel and worked in a tourism destination management for a decade and decided two years ago to quit the job and be a full time small scale organic farmer and cheese maker. We make sure that our herd of Karst sheep (Istrian Sheep) and Drežnica Goats always enjoy their grazing. Both native, heritage breeds are endangered, which is why we pay special attention to breeding and taking care of our herd. The milk of both breeds is extremely rich and enables us to make a variety of products, all reflecting this unique and pristine environment and animals. In addition to goats and sheep, our farm is also home to many chickens. The fruit from our orchards and the vegetables and herbs from our gardens are made into jams, sauces and syrups. Come and help us with our animals, pastures, orchards, gardens... enjoy the peaceful life in our picturesque village, enjoy the beauty and fragrance of our meadows, admire the beautiful views, pet our goats and sheep. Welcome!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Slovenia is small country with rich history and since we are a border region you can really feel mixture of cultural influences that result in very rich culinary and habits. You will be able to learn how is life on a farm far from big cities. Living in a village where u will be one of 16 inhabitants is pretty unique. While we like to cook and bake you will be able to learn some local recipes. You will have a chance to pick up some Slovene words. Knowledge about heritage breeds and old varieties of vegetables and fruits is also part of cultural exchange.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You will be able to learn about small scale organic farming and cheese making by helping us with everyday the farm.
    In the milking season (April - November) the first thing in the morning after breakfast is milking our goats and sheep on pasture with mobile milking parlour. When we are milking twice a day, the milking has to be done also in the evening.
    Every few days a new pasture has to be prepared. The karst dry pastures are full of herbs so helping there include aromatherapy together with stunning views.

    During the winter when is no milking there is some help with feeding the animals and taking care of lambs and baby goats. That is also time when we are cleaning bushes on pastures and preparing some firewood.
    You will be able to help also with some gardening, cooking, some diy projects, so whatever have to be done in everyday farm life ;-)

    We are gay couple and welcome any gender workawayers to get in touch as well as couples. We are already thankful for your help on our farm and your strong will to learn new things and practices. The help is diverse and interesting.

    Right at the moment there is some help with animals, preparing new pastures, cleaning bushes on pastures, preparing fire wood. Till the spring we have to make a new big herbal garden - 200m2 including some dry stone walls to be reconstructed... Planting some new fruit trees in the orchard, pruning the orchard,... when there will be lambing season (February, March) there will be more with animals. So on small farms like our there is always a lot of things to do :-)

    Helping on farm is not like working in an office. Helping on farm is a lifestyle. There is a lot of helps that have to be done on time and depends on weather. So some days we will help some hours more and the other days some hours less.

    Two days a week are off to travel around.
    But if you decide to stay and sleep and eat and live with us on farm also on off-days please help us couple of hours for exchange for food and your accomodation. Thank you for your energy, love, support and new knowledge.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Croatian: Courant
    Italien: Courant
    Slovenian: Courant
    Allemand: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We are living in 150 years old stone made house which we've been renovating last 10 years. You will be living with us sharing kitchen, living room and bathroom. You will have your own bedroom. We can host three Workawayers, but two would need to sleep in the same bed, so better for a couple or 2 close friends. There are two bedrooms with one double bed in each room.
    All the meals will be prepared and eaten together. You will be able to help with cooking too.
    The village is without water pipeline or springs. Every house has it's own water well catching rain water. The water is filtered so its drinkable :-) We respect water and the nature. That's why we take short showers and use water only when needed. Please close the tap/pipe/shower when not needed that we all have enough water also to drink, for animals, for cooking, for cheese making, to water plants,... please respect water and nature. Thank you.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You will have also time to explore the area. Both Vipava valley and Karst are wine regions with picturesque villages, castles, nice walking trails, rich local culinary... Nearby are also some bigger historic cities like Trieste and Gorizia. The coast is 20km away.
    The railway station is 4km away in village Branik where also bus stop is.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 382938111925