1 / 5

Help us with home improvement projects and spend some time in the Swiss Alps in Glarus Sud, Switzerland

  • Suisse
  • Enregistré comme favori 104 fois
  • Activité récente: 1 juin 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description



    We are a young (well, we think so) couple, 34 and 30, with a brand new human, Ivar, who was born in January 2022. I (Oli) am British, I was a Nanny before Ivar came along and I also work on a project that organises bike adventures that raise money for refugee projects. Sascha is Swiss, an electrician who also enjoys converting vans to campers and is currently concentrating on working on our house.

    We moved to Switzerland 3 years ago, after living for 3.5 years in the UK in our van. We've just bought a beautiful old mountain house, that needs some work doing to it. We are doing a lot of it ourselves, but the bigger things will get builders in for. We are turning it into 2 homes, one for us and one to rent out. The back where we will live is at the moment a garage and half converted barn.

    We are pretty chilled, we want you to feel at home here. We of course expect mutual respect, and kindness :) In the evenings and and on days we aren't working on the house we like to play board games, play music (not that well), go hiking, have campfires, watch movies, make nice dinners etc. We also fully appreciate the need for chill alone time.

    Where: It's in the Sernftal valley, surrounded by the Swiss Alps, with skiing just a 15 minute bus ride away. Also lovely snow shoeing, cross country skiing and all that other wintery stuff. And in summer hiking, cycling, climbing etc. There is a river a 5 min walk away that you can dip in (not properly swim) and there are of course lakes around!

    Accommodation: You will have your own room and share the bathroom and kitchen with us. We can share the cooking, but we will buy most of the food. We eat predominantly veggie but not strict on anything :)

    The Work: The next project is the staircase, so oiling wood, sanding door frames, painting, things like that. Sascha will be fitting the electrics, so if you would like to learn about electrics you'd be welcome to help.

    Hours: 15 hours a week would help us out a lot and gives you lots of time to explore the area. Of course if you want to work more you can! The hours can be worked when you like, at first we'd like you to work with one of us and then if we are all happy you can work alone.

    Covid-19: We're both vaccinated.

    If you are interested in a stay in the beautiful Swiss Mountains, get in touch!

    We look forward to hearing from you :)

    Oli, Sascha and Ivar

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We live in the Swiss mountains, so you get the full Swiss countryside vibes. Perfect for people that enjoy the outdoors, not sooo great if you like nightlife. Sascha is Swiss so if you want to learn some Swiss German, he will happily teach you the basics, we try and speak Swiss German between us when we can, so that I can practice.

    We are surrounded by farms, so lots of lovely local cheese and meat.

  • Aide


    Painting, decorating and general DIY.

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You will have your own room and share our bathroom and kitchen. We are happy to buy most of the food, if you want special things, alcohol etc then you can get these yourself. And we can share the cooking.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The local bus goes every hour, taking you in one direction to the ski pistes and the other to the local town where you can get the train into Zürich or other places around Switzerland. We are often driving to various places and are happy to give lifts when it works.

    We live a pretty quiet life but we love meeting new people, having a good chat over a nice dinner, playing board games, going for swims, campfires and then sometimes just chilling out and watching some tv, reading etc. We also both like some quiet alone time and we appreciate you probably also may need some.

    We expect you to be respectful of us, our home and neighbours. And we will of course be respectful to you. We like open communication, friendliness and just general kindness.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    You are welcome to use our home as your office, but we do not have wifi. We use our phones to hot spot, so you would have to be able to do the same. When we are home, you can use ours but otherwise there is no internet.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Depending on the size of your campervan we do have a parking space. Get in touch and we can chat about it.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We are happy to have well behaved pets, in fact, we love them!!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    15 hours a week to be done as you wish

N° de référence hôte : 137955165313

Feedback (2)



Join our family in in a quiet village in Novaggio, the Italian part of Switzerland
Join our multicultural family and help with babysitting and meals in Onnens, Switzerland