Donnez-nous un coup de main dans notre ferme, Texas Hill Country, près d'Austin, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 248 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    14.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 2 jours

  • paid opportunity

    Offre rémunérée

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Clark and Lora Gray, and own 28 acres in the Hill Country just outside of Wimberley, Texas. On our property we have 2 horses, 5 goats, 40 chickens, 3 cats, 2 dogs, and 1 tortoise. We also have two vacation rentals that we own and operate year-round. In addition, we are always working on side projects, from property management to construction, to permaculture, gardening and landscaping. There is never a day without something to work on.

    Our ideal workers would be a couple (since we’re looking for two people and only have one accommodation). They would be willing to work with us for 4-6 hours a day, five days a week and be flexible around meals…sometimes, especially in the summer, we have lunch on the go and eat a very late dinner. We do eat meat, but not at every meal. If you require meat at every meal, this may not be the best fit for you. Many of our meals are vegetarian or vegan to suit those in our family who choose to eat that way. We are somewhat flexible around work schedules. For the most-part our work hours are between 8:00 AM and 2:00 PM (and then also evening animal feedings), but rain, heat, or other obligations can cause us to start later and end later, or work all day into the evening on one day, and take the following day off. We love our afternoon siesta, and expect our workers to also take a little break in the afternoons to reset for the day. We've always got a list of projects to tackle, but are also happy to rest after putting forth a big effort.

    We will pay our workers a flat fee per week (adds up to minimum wage for hours worked), and nice accommodation (plus food) will be provided. While we are English speakers, Clark is proficient in German and loves learning and trying out all other languages.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Regarding our location, the Texas Hill Country is often times compared to the hills of California. The square in Wimberley, our town, is about a 15 minute drive away from our property and is a popular tourist destination. There are many fun shops and restaurants in the square. Nearby are a large number of swimming holes, the Blanco River, and a handful of state parks under an hour away by car. For convenience, it would be best for our worker to have their own car, though this is not absolutely necessary.
    We can teach our workers a number of things about property maintenance, animal care, vacation rental management, and general construction, while working on the many projects we’ve got on our long to-do list.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help with Animals, with our vacation rentals, construction projects, and general property maintenance. We usually wake up around 7:00-8:00 AM and start our morning animal duties, which include: mucking stalls and feeding our goats, horses, dogs, cats, and tortoise. Then we have breakfast, followed by addressing any needs of our vacation rentals (cleaning, maintenance, hot tubs, landscaping, restocking firewood, and filling birdfeeders.) After that, we choose a project to tackle for the day (building a barn, pulling fence, trail maintenance, painting a mural, construction projects, gardening/landscaping, etc.)
    By 2:00-3:00, we are normally wrapping up work for the day, and spend the rest of the afternoon swimming in the pool or working on personal projects. The average workday is about five hours of labor, sometimes more, sometimes less.

    Our evening animal routine is very basic. Feeding everyone and making sure they're secure for the night. It takes about an hour and is a very enjoyable time to spend with the animals.
    Because of our accommodations (a one-room camper with one bed) we are hoping to find a couple who would like to work with us.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Clark is interested in all languages and would love to learn as we work together. He formerly taught English in the Slovak Republic, so does have a background in teaching the English language.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodations available for our Workawayers are very nice. We’ll provide a fully restored 1967 Kenkraft camper, with a queen-size bed, a mid-size fridge, running water and a hotplate. The camper also has its own fire pit and private hot tub. The bathroom is a short walk away, at the main house, with an exterior entrance for privacy. The full kitchen in the main house will be available at any time. As hosts, when we make meals our workers will be welcome to join us in eating. Lora does not love to cook (hah!) so you'll be free to make your own meals most of the time.
    Unfortunately, there is not internet access in the camper. Guests in the camper usually use their phones as hot spots. There is decent internet access in the main house, and workers are welcome to come inside, or sit on the porch, to use it when needed.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our town, Wimberley, is a fifteen minute drive away, and offers a variety of fun shops and restaurants. There are many parks and swimming holes nearby too and, within an hour-drive you can reach a number of state parks and other destinations in the hill country. The town of San Marcos is a 45 minute drive away, and offers larger stores, chain restaurants, movie theaters, a floating tour on the river, and shopping malls. The state capitol, Austin, is about an hour drive from our house, and San Antonio (one of the oldest cities in the United States) is just under two hours away. It would be best for our workers to have their own car, however, if they’ve got a drivers license, we may be able to provide a car from time to time.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Our internet can be limited at times, however we are happy to host workers who have their own online obligations, as long as the time needed for those things can be somewhat flexible.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We do have plenty of parking available, and may be able to accommodate a motorhome or campervan if our number of workers allows.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    8:00-3:00

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






N° de référence hôte : 373995894795