Share our life, practise French and help us renovate our house in Auvergne, France

  • France
  • Enregistré comme favori 478 fois
  • Activité récente: 11 mai 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    ####### AS SOON AS POSSIBLE #######

    Hi workawayers !

    Thanks to 58 workawayers between 2012 and 2017, my kids grown up very happily in spite of me being a very busy single mum ! :-) they shared their handcraft, happiness, cooking and culture from their country, that was great !

    Time has passed... Now, I’m working in Paris during the week and come back in Auvergne for the weekend, Margot my daughter will turn 18, is a very open minded and happy young adult and will start studying in September, and Sascha my autistic son is now 22, lives from Monday to Friday in a specialized home and comes back home every weekend.

    I still have my house where I hosted all the workawayers, but I also recently bought a second house in the same village with the Sascha’s father. It’s a big old house, with two flats. We have to renovate it, before living in it, Sascha’s father in the flat on the first floor, and me in the flat upstairs. And this house will be able to host friends and family who wants to visit Sascha on weekends.

    Sascha’s father is renovating the house alone during the week, and I try on weekend to help him, but also to share a lot of activities with Sascha, and also to maintain my first house and garden...

    So I thought it could be fun to host workawayers again : you could help us, and I also miss the cultural diversity provided by workawayers. Lots of workawayers who stayed at home still come to visit us for one or few days, and that reminds me how great it was ! :-)

    They help will mainly consist in :
    • Painting walls and ceilings in the new house, or other tasks which contribute to renovate the house
    • Cutting hedges and mow the grass, or cleaning in the first house
    • Hiking or cooking with Sascha
    • Make boxes before to prepare the move

    We can host one or two persons. You will sleep either in the first room, or if you prefer to be more independent, you can camp in the house we just bought.

    You will have days off, to let you visit the region.
    If you wish to visit Paris, I can also host you a few days in my flat in the center of Paris.

    We need you to have some knowledge in French as Sascha and his father speak only French.

    Hope to see you soon !!!! :-)

    ### PREVIOUS PROFILE TEXT (2012-2017) ###

    I am a single-mum of 2 kids. My daughter Margot is 15 years old, she's always happy, funny, and likes travelling, being outside... She practices circus, and plays piano. She learns English and Spanish at school and starts this year with Russian. My son Sascha is 20 years old. He has got autistic troubles. He's easy-going, can talk and communicate quite well, but can also have a "strange" behavior, well, an autistic one ! ;-) At the moment, to be honest, he's not always in a good mood (teenage crisis ?...). And I can't let him alone, like younger kids (that's why some baby-sitting is needed in case I have to work late in the evening or sometimes during the night, when I have to be away 2 days because of my job, or when I want to go out). He's actually in a specialized school 40km away from home (he takes the train by his own), learning professional skills, but he doesn't learn any foreign language.
    And I'm a very optimistic person, who enjoys life and finds always the positive in every situation. I like playing music, meeting my friends, travelling (most of the time in Europe with a small camper), couchsurfing or hosting, running, dancing, going to bed late... ;-)

    We were already used to hosting friends or couchsurfers at home, and we all three thought it could be a good idea to host foreigners for a longer period, sharing our life, and helping me at home, as it's a bit hard to do everything (as I have an important job and I’ single mum). My kids are really happy about that, and always expect to have a real exchange with people staying at home. As I wish this stay to be an exchange for both, you could share our week-ends or holidays if we travel, meet my friends, go to the cinema, to the swimming pool, or go hiking, ice skating...

    Except when there is some baby-sitting to do, there is no special schedules for the help I need, this lets you time to visit also by your own while I'm working and kids are at school.

    We already hosted 58 people, mostly for one month or more, and it was always a good and interesting experience. Of course, they helped me at home and with the kifds (thanks to all of you !!!). But we also enjoyed discovering other culture through their eyes, new recipes from all over the world (we love eating, and meals are at home always a great moment !). Most of them are associated to great and special moments, and we are still in contact with nearly all of them ! B-)
    We shared nice evenings, week-ends in Lyon, in Paris, at the Mediterranean See, holidays in the Cevennes with the camper, in a camping at the see, one week in Barcelona, one month with our camper in Italy. Some of them also spent few days by my parents in order to visit Vichy, or in Lyon by a friend of mine. And most of them also shared special moments with the kids, like Adrian who taught Sascha how to take the train, or by playing football, hiking, dancing with them...
    We really have so nice remembers with :
    Alex (Quebec), Beatriz (Spain), Sina (Canada), Graziano (Italy), Alexis and Liz (USA), Sina a second time, Cecile & Guillaume (France), Emily and Alicia (Australia), Katelyn (Canada), Jasmin (Germany), Jazmine (USA), Tatyana (Canada), Hugo (Canada), Melanie (UK), Adrian (Poland/UK), Eoin (Ireland), Omar (Mexico), Louise (UK), Celiya (UK), Anne (Germany), Joanna (Germany), Alex (Germany), Richard (UK), Pauline (USA), Jana (Germany), Michal (Switzerland), Kate (UK), Isobel (UK), Sonia (Spain), Ivan (Ukraine), Amelia (UK), François (Quebec), Anne (Germany), Nienke (Belgium), Gwenaël (France), Miguel (Portugal), David (Hungary), Louis (France), Eduard (Germany), Charlotte (Belgium), Arno (Switzerland), Tzu-Yu (Tawain), Celina (Germany), Giovanni (Italy), Celina again, Renata (Russia), Corbyn (USA), Virginie (France), Celina for the 3rd time ! :-), Celina for the 4th time !!!, Samuel (UK), Yvonne (Germany), Adrien (Mexico), Nina (Germany), Guillermo (Spain), Katy (USA), Cigdem (UK), Alex (my first workawayer !!!) for the 2nd time, John (USA) and Lucia (Argentina) !

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Of course, we'll help you improving your French !
    You can also learn how to renovate a house, to cook, learn about autism, discover our positive and optimistic way of live, and of course the beautiful landscape around my home !

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    They help will mainly consist in :
    • Painting walls and ceilings in the new house, or other tasks which contribute to renovate the house
    • Cutting hedges and mow the grass, or cleaning in the first house
    • Hiking or cooking with Sascha
    • Make boxes before to prepare the move

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You will sleep either in the first room, or if you prefer to be more independent, you can camp in the house we just bought.

    We have free wi-fi, and a jacuzzi ! ;-)
    Photos can be sent after first contact.

    Meals will be provided

    Smoking only outside in the garden.

    Near my house, there is a bus going to the train station.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    #### To be able to communicate easily with Sascha and his father, having basic french knowlegde is required ####

    *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️ we prefere long stay (one month or more), can eventually accept 2-3 weeks stay, but don't request if you want to stay less than 2 weeks *️️️️*️️️️*️️️️*️️️️

    The region I live is really nice, it's in the center of France (Massif Central), where all the volcanos of France are. It's a nice landscape, wonderful for hiking or swimming in the lakes, but it's even near a big city (Clermont-Ferrand) for shopping, cinema, meeting friends (there are couchsurfer-meeting for example, and there are a lot of students)...

    If you want to discover my village before you come, you can have a look at photos on this website : samarsat
    Website about the region of volcanos (Massif Central) : massif-central
    Website about the "departement" Puy-de-Dôme where my village is located :

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    About 3 hours per day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 368214971319

Feedback (35)