Come help garden and take care of our beautiful Big Island, South Kona, Hawaii



Enregistré comme favori 587 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Description


    We are Ken and Courtney. We have a lovely home and garden overlooking Kealakekua Bay, in South Kona, on the west side of the Big Island. The view is epic! There is a lot to do here. The gardening and landscaping alone is an endless project. Things grow so fast here! Ken was a professional organic farmer for over ten years, so you will learn a lot about growing plants while staying here. Our home sits above a Heiau, a historic Hawaiian site. Seeing this landmark daily is a special part of living here. Our property consists of winding gardens that are filled with both edibles and ornamentals. There are also plants important to Hawaiian culture, like bread fruit, cacao, ginger, and turmeric. Ken is a licensed massage therapist with a studio on property, so we seek to maintain an atmosphere of serenity. Courtney is a school teacher as well as a ceramic artist. Another project were are in the middle of, is turning the garage into a functioning art studio equipped with a kiln and potters wheel.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Entretien général
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Kona, has a rich history and culture. If you are interested in gardening and horticultural practices, South Kona is a great place to gain knowledge. Our half acre is diverse with edible, native, and flowering plants. We are located in the middle of Kona's Coffee belt, where coffee has been a main cash crop for generations. Our Property sits right next to the Kona living History Farm, where they have preserved the old technologies in a living museum. Courtney is a ceramic artist and will need help in the studio. This is a wonderful opportunity to learn ceramic arts. We do a lot of local eating and eating off the land. If this is interesting to you, you will enjoy the lifestyle here.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We are looking for help in our day to day life on this property. This help will include gardening, cleaning, shopping, meal prep, and other projects in the home, garden, and art studio. There are always fun things happening around here that we would love additional help with.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    We are offering a private bedroom with a shared bath. You will be sharing the house with Ken and Courtney and other guests. You will have access to a large kitchen with many appliances and amenities. We have a washer and dryer here at the house. We feel that it is important to keep a clean house and are looking for someone who feels the same.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our home overlooks Kealakekua Bay, one of the main historical sites of the Big Island. Kealakekua Bay is less than a 10 min drive from our house and is a magnificent swimming and snorkeling spot. People come from all over the world to hike the Captain Cook Monument Trail and snorkel in the Bay. The trailhead is walking distance from our house. Sometimes you will see dolphins and other times you will see goats. This is a very interesting part of the world. Adventure waits around every corner.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week, flexible schedule

N° de référence hôte : 365764279623