Help with house restoration or land management on our two projects in La Fresneda and Valderrobres, Spain

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 78 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    17.05.2022

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!

    We are Hermine and Paul, a French-Irish couple who moved to Matarrana region in August 2020 after living in Valencia and before that Bavaria.

    We visited and lived in many different places before coming to Spain. Former Workawayers ourselves, we helped people in Spain, Italy, Germany, USA, Morocco… We enjoyed our time very much and are now happy to be hosts! We quit our jobs in 2019 and have bought a piece of land next to the pretty town of Valderrobres in February 2021.

    At the moment, we live in a house located 8km away from the lovely village of Calaceite but very soon (end October) we will move to a 4 floor town house which we are currently renovating.

    We live close to the border with Cataluña. The closest cities are Alcaniz (Aragon), Tortosa and Tarragona (Cataluna). There are many hiking paths around, as well as the river Matarrana for swimming, and the Natural Park of Els Ports (Beceite) is very close to us. The are is great for hill walking, trail running and cycling or mountain biking.


    THE HELP WE NEED:

    We have 2 project on the go and require help with both.

    *PRIORITY* LA FRESNEDA (House). We are renovating a lovely 4 floor house so we need help with:

    *Laying floors
    *Plastering walls
    *Decorating
    *Fitting a kitchen
    *Installing doors and windows
    *Plumbing
    People with skills in the above areas will be very welcome!

    VALDERROBRES (land). We are preparing the land and garden while we wait for permission to build our eco construction straw bale house. There is less to do during autumn and winter but the garden needs preparing for Spring 2022.

    *Clearing the land and pruning the olive & almond trees
    *Construction of a water tank
    *Rebuilding stone walls
    *Preparing the future permaculture garden area
    *Planting and caring for fruit trees and vines and other large trees
    *Building a chicken coop
    *Irrigation systems
    *Clearing and making firewood from fallen trees

    We normally work between 08:30-13:30 but we are flexible. Summer hours start and finish earlier due to the heat! Normally we agree on timings dependent on weather and the project we are working on. Days off are flexible and we are happy to accommodate any combination.

    ABOUT US :)

    *Paul is crazy about running and being outside. He is a problem solver, needs to keep busy and enjoys physical work. He is enthusiastic about all jobs that require lifting, sawing, digging, cutting, assembling, you name it! He is also a great (vegetarian) cook and makes tasty jams, breads and curries.
    *Hermine discovered permaculture while workawaying and enjoys growing food :) When not in the garden, she will be found playing with our 4 adorable cats, helping Paul with his latest project or cleaning around the house. Sometimes running too, or volunteering at the animal shelter of Alcaniz. She is fluent in French, English, German, and speaks good enough Spanish to communicate with the neighbours.
    *We are both vegetarian, almost vegan. We avoid dairy products and only eat eggs from chicken we or our friends own. You will not have any meat or fish served during your stay (but you are welcome to purchase and cook your own).

    WHO WE ARE LOOKING FOR:

    We are open to all profiles, no matter the age, race, background, language, gender, nationality, etc! We prefer hosting couples but it is not mandatory, we have had brilliant single helpers :) You need to be motivated, enjoy working with your hands. We also expect you to be able to work autonomously. We like to give our workawayers interesting projects they could take the lead on.

    It would be a plus if you had experience in woodworking or building. Some electrics or plumbing skills are always welcome, as well as permaculture and gardening knowledge. We always love learning from our guests!
    Basic English is required.

    Having your own car would be great but not essential. The public transport isn't great around here so if you want to really explore the area, having a car would give you autonomy.

    HOW LONG?

    For an initial stay, we can host you for one or two weeks. If everything goes well and you'd like to stay a bit longer, we would be happy to discuss it.

    Feel free to ask us any question. Now that the restrictions have been lifted and we are allowed to welcome visitors, we will answer them quickly again!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are both open minded and eager to learn about other people's culture, way of life, language, cooking, experiences. You can use your stay to improve your English with Paul, your French with Hermine, your Spanish with the locals. It is also a good introduction to what it means to live in the Spanish countryside.

  • Aide

    Aide

    See above:
    *Laying floors
    *Plastering walls
    *Decorating
    *Fitting a kitchen
    *Installing doors and windows
    *Plumbing
    People with skills in the above areas will be very welcome!

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Italien: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    The workawayers will have their own double bedroom (double bed, room to put your clothes and things) and have access to every part of the house. We provide the food and are happy to do the shopping, but we expect some help with cooking and cleaning.
    We are currently renovating all rooms and there will be 3 double rooms in total. If you come early enough you may be decorating your room!
    Be aware that for the next couple of months we are renovating but we have mains electricity, hot water, wood burning stove, internet and a roof! It may be a little dusty until the decorating is complete but that is all part of the experience of renovation!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    If you want to use public transport, we could collect you from the neighbouring towns of Alcaniz, Tortosa, Gandesa, or Mora la Nova (train from Barcelona).

    You will have one or two days of rest per week (depending on how you wish to organise your work). You could use this time to go hiking (lots of trails), go swimming (beautiful lakes 15mins drive away. Discover the local towns and their delicacies (great wine, olive oil and pastries), explore the natural park of El Ports or simply chill out on the terrace.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We are currently establishing WIFI at the new house so please ask at what stage we are to be sure.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a big piece of land with a great view! You will require a water filter or collect drinking water nearby as we have not yet established the water system. The land is 200m from the road but you cannot hear the traffic (there is not much traffic). The dry toilet is complete.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We can only accept pets that are cat-friendly as we have 4 of them! On the land pets are not a problem as the cats live in the house at La Fresneda.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










N° de référence hôte : 363773711318