Plants, permaculture, pets, and parenting help wanted in off-grid home in Chiclana, Spain

Country

Espagne

Enregistré comme favori 126 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    30.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 4 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi Workawayers, thanks for looking at our profile. Send us a message (short is fine!) that shows that you cared to read through all the description and that specifies how you would like to help our project. At the moment we could really use a reliable couple or family who would be interested in being an extra helping hand around the land. We have lots of trees to care for, a pool to repair, a digging project for a gray water tube, and a metal roof to replace among other smaller daily chores. We could also use some HOUSE SITTERS FOR DECEMBER.

    We're an international family. Andreas is German and Juni is from the USA. We have a 2 year old daughter named Zoé. We live in Chiclana, Spain and are starting a life here from scratch after living in Brooklyn, NY for a decade. It involves a house under construction, a neglected orchard, and a large gardening project. Some light childcare could also come in handy. We also are discovering all kinds of things to do to have the smallest impact on the environment. We use gray water in the garden, a dry toilet in the house, and do everything with 100% solar energy. We have lots to share and learn about this way of living. Hope to find likeminded people who would enjoy life this way.

    Just a few years ago we were workaway travellers (without the kid) and worked on a permaculture project in Vejer de la Frontera, Spain; did some maintenance work for a guy in Malaga, Spain; and picked dates in South Shuna, Jordan. We are excited to become hosts and give our guests the wonderful hospitality and cultural exchanges we once experienced. We have a strong preference for hosting couples or families with small children.

    The workday is not linear. Somedays we could use a lot of help with a clear beginning, middle, and end for a project. Other days it helps us a lot if you bond and play with Zoé while Juni or Andreas tends to their personal needs. We are sure you won't feel overworked but we want to be clear that we don't have a strong work schedule that we expect anyone to follow. We hope you will always feel comfortable jumping in to help when you have a good idea for something and also take time to go away and explore the area. The most important thing is to communicate and we're certain that this allows everyone to feel free, happy, and fulfilled here.

    Those that would enjoy themselves the most here are those who:
    -are not into daily or very long showers because they are making a conscious effort to save water
    -generally think about conservation of Earth's resources and work to mindfully use them
    -laugh easily, enjoy meeting new people, and wouldn't describe themselves as shy or reserved (we're a lively family)
    -take initiative; you see something that can be done and you just do it confidently without asking too many questions
    -are up for adventures and are curious to explore the area on the weekends or whenever you have free time
    -love the countryside life and can skip the hustle and bustle of city life
    -enjoy being around a curious child who is loving and will probably sit in your lap with a book on the first day you meet if you’re open to the idea
    -have experience with gardening/permaculture/working outside or at least an interest in it
    -eat vegan or are at least willing to try while staying with us
    -are non smokers because we don't smoke and it's just awkward (with that said, this is not a deal breaker...we’ve hosted smokers without a problem)

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You could learn English or German with us. You could also learn experientially about gardening and parenting. We love to cook and eat a vegan diet. Juni likes to bake and Andreas is into making delicious pasta sauces. Andreas is a professional musician and Juni is a veteran science teacher. Surely you'll learn a lot from us. We are also eager to learn about you and your culture as well.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We would love to have your help with

    - gardening, pruning trees, canning whatever is in season
    - teaching, playing with, and learning from our daughter Zoé
    - tending to our elderly cat Minou
    -caring for our other furry friends Petey and Remi the rabbits and Ono the hamster
    - landscaping (we are currently planning a stone terrace and walking path in our garden)
    - cooking family meals, doing dishes, house cleaning
    - help getting Andreas' grand vision of a chili sauce production off the ground
    -cleaning projects to make this place feel like a home and less like a construction zone

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We would be happy to exchange English and German for Spanish. We can speak Spanish but we need more practice.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There are two options. We have a little guest house which we are not sure if it's warm enough for the winter months Jan-March. There is a large enclosed piece of land in which you could easily put up a tent if that interests you. We'll provide all the bedding you'll need and ensure you are able to sleep comfortably. We have three VEGAN meals a day and you are invited to eat with us every time. The guest house has it's own kitchen and fridge in which you're free to use as well.

    We CANNOT ACCEPT any workawayers with pets. Our sweet elderly cat and two cuddly bunnies are terrified of other animals and we promised to keep them feeling safe and sound.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    With your time off you can explore Chiclana and all parts of Cadiz easily by bus. We hope that our workawayer guests feel at home and are independent without any expectations that we'd be your personal tour guide. With that said, we'd be happy to drive you if we're also heading that direction. There is a 5km hiking loop by our house and you can probably borrow a neighbor's dog to accompany you.

    When we're not busy with the land we like to head to the beach or the local indoor pool. It's good to take it slow sometimes and just lounge around. .

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have a decent wifi connection but not good enough to upload/download big files. For conference calls and some video streaming our system does fine.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We cannot give you a secure parking place but we have plenty of parking along our property. We recommend you use an anti-theft device for more peace of mind. The park place is right outside our house so you don't have to worry too much however.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








N° de référence hôte : 359855791524