A different kind of education on a beautiful piece of land we are bringing back to life in Reno, Nevada, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 19 fois
  • Activité récente: 25 nov. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois



  • Description


    Join us to experience a different kind of education! As winter approaches, we are hoping to find someone interested in children , alternative education, and landcare.

    Join us - an older couple with young farmhands (grandchildren!) who we homeschool in an innovative "global cultures" program. This is a program that works from the arts (music, dance, projects, and story) as a tool to bring cross-cultural connection and education. I am putting some picutres of some of our projects for you to see. This fall our focus is on the Vikings and Nordic culture so anyone from Scandinavia would have much to contribute! The work in the photos is from units on ancient Israel and on the HAudenosaunee (Iroquois of the northeast U.S. I need help with this for about an hour in the morning 3 days a week, and you would be welcome to join for the whole day - our current workaways helped a lot with our adobe oven!

    The remaining time (about 12 hours a week) would be helping with this amazing land. You will help us as we bring our beautiful piece of land back to health! Right now we need help to get things ready to handle the "new" winter climate here where flooding has become a real thing!

    We live on the edge of Reno Nevada on a wonderful acre that we are bringing back to life. We have a stunning view of the high Sierra –best in Reno! - but when we bought this property it had been totally trashed (oil spills, neglect, garbage, broken machinery, glass everywhere). It was so toxic that no animals or insects would come near except fire ants. We decided that bringing a piece of land back to life was a worthy undertaking, and if we succeeded it would mean we had a natural place for our grandchildren to play and garden and meet creatures.

    Now, in our third year, the land is teaming with life - this summer we picked 5700 pie cherries on 3 cherry trees, hundreds of blackberries, and endless green beans. Oh the grapes are now raisins, jelly, and juice. I planted 29 other trees too!). It is so beautiful and full of life - birds, rabbits, butterflies, hummingbird-moths, snakes, lizards, honeybees all abound. And yet it has much that still needs to be done and much to tend – and we are old!

    And . . . this is the wild west and wild horses are seen often, especially spring and fall.

    I grew up in the United Nations community in NYC and miss the cultural life – it would be a delight to host a single or a couple from another country - or just another part of this country – and learn about their worlds. I currently run a non-profit educational program focused on teaching global studies through the arts. I am guessing anyone coming will have much to contribute and I have much to share!

    My husband has done several kinds of work in his life (from supervising prisoner care, to attorney, to story writer for our educational non-profit). He loves reading and sharing his life stories.

    We have a wonderful and super friendly dog - sheepadoodle (old english sheep dog and poodle mix). Griffin. He is the best, and is very much part of life so dog loving required! My 3 youngest grandchildren are here often and they are very interested in other cultures (10, 8, and 3 - all boys). My other 4 grandchildren are occasional visitors to our house, where we have a trampoline, an above ground pool, huge sand box, zip line, ball field, hammocks, and lots of arts and crafts, and, of course, the gardens.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide informatique/internet
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are a nice older couple (80 and 72) with interesting backgrounds and we would be happy to share our world. This is also an unusually nice and old-fashioned, friendly neighborhood - people often say it is like stepping back in time. So you would meet some interesting neighbors.

    Reno downtown is a different world - like a mini Las Vegas - so some find it fun, and everyone finds it an interesting and odd slice of life. We would be happy to take our helpers on short trips now and then to see the nearby Silver Mining town or the hot springs or Lake Tahoe. And, as I said above, I can teach pottery and there is access to a wheel 24/7.

    Of course they will learn about this land, and land and soil in general. And they will learn about gardening and orchard care. And a lot about the changing climate because you can't avoid it here (or anywhere else).

    In the winter months most of the learning will be about this unique approach to education.

    We have lived full lives and are happy to share what we have seen and experienced. Since I lived in and attended the U.N. School all my life, I have an unusually broad suitcase to draw from. We also have 7 wonderful grandchildren who are in and out and give a different perspective on life. My oldest grandson just finished a year as a WorkAway in South America and on the rare occasions he is here; he has much to share.

  • Aide


    The amount of help is 3-4 hours 4-5 days a week. Land and climate are unpredictable so some flexibility is needed. For example, after a huge rain, it could be all hands on deck all day to deal with flooding, and then several days fully off. Or right now we are battling bindweed and it might be 4 hours for 3 days.

    The average would be 15 hours a week with at least 3 full days off to explore and usually more time off.

    Sometimes there might be a special project too, like helping put in a door or helping my grandchildren make adobe bricks to build their own oven. No special skills need as we will train you, but love of the land and children are a must.

    On the whole it will be weeding, tending the gardens, helping plant and harvest, clearing ditches (digging), and light repair tasks like sandboxes and fences. A good back is a must. Also it is very hot in the daytime here so being an early riser - when it is gorgeous out - is a big help; this is siesta country in the summer.

    If outdoor related tasks are light, we would ask simple cleaning help like sweeping and mopping our small home (1000 sq ft).

    It is imperative that the workawayer(s) are non-smokers, outdoors or in. I have a serious allergy to cigarette smoke and really can't mess around with this.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Would love to have a spanish speaker who likes children and wants to share active language (games and other activities) but that is not required.

  • Hébergement


    Housing is private in a large travel trailer with heat, air conditioning, convection oven, toaster, electric skillet, tea/coffee pot. Separate toilet, shower, and sink area. Queen bed in separate area, and fold out couch in Living Room. LR window faces the High Sierra! Currently it has a potter's wheel in the LR and we can leave that for your fun - I can give lessons too! Or we can take it out. The place is suitable for a single or a couple.

    We will provide $40/week for a single and $60 for a pair to help with food costs, and we will take you shopping. We will welcome you to join us at dinner weekly, and some lunches with the kids.

    We will take you to shop for your own lunches and dinners and you can, of course, share in the foods that are being harvested.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We are not far from Lake Tahoe - one of the most beautiful lakes in the world - and actually look right at the mountains rising from it. There are hiking trails right out the door and wetland trails a bike ride away. We only use the bikes in the late evening so they are available most of the time. This situation is best for someone who enjoys the outdoors with a touch of city spice!

    However, the drawback here is that transportation takes effort unless you can afford to rent a car (we live on a bumpy dirt road). We will lend bicycles to ride the 3/4 mile to the mall where you can lock them up and take a bus into town - likely it will take an hour for the whole trip. In town you can do the Reno casino thing or you can go to many music and art events in the local parks. You can also get buses or the train up to Tahoe. But it is definitely an undertaking unless you rent a car. When we can, we will give you a lift to buses or car rentals.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We do not have an extra computer, but if they bring their own we have direct ethernet to their living space so service is excellent. Also have less dependable wifi; cellular is strong.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Dogs only! Cat allergies!

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week (really 15 hours a week erratically spread)

N° de référence hôte : 353434457475

Feedback (1)


Donnez-nous un coup de main dans notre petite ferme/centre bien-être hors-réseau dans la Forêt nationale de Talladega en Alabama, USA
Help at our home and learn more about native American culture and tribal non-profit in, Minnesota, USA