1 / 5

Help with DIY and eco projects on our family farm in Monthault, France

  • Enregistré comme favori 2 fois
  • Activité récente: 17 mai 2023

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    Hello

    We are Rob (53) and Deborah (49) and we are living since 2 years in France, on the border of Bretagne and Normandie. We live in the countryside, we live in a very quiet and relaxed area with great views and surroundings.
    Original we are from Holland, but we have also lived in Germany for 12 years.
    We have a little farm with alpaca's and a few sheep and we are opening a little garden nursery these months. We have also 5 cats, 3 dogs and some chicken.

    Our house is a renovationproject and that is where we can use some help with. We have renovated our farm in Germany ourselves , with mostly sustainible materials and we want to do the same with our house here.
    We needed to wait for the permission, but now we have it and soon we want to start with our roof, making an extension and putting some doors and windows in.

    We make our own wood from our trees and we have the machines to do it.
    We are used to built with raw and also used materials and this gives an extra dimension in stead of building with only new and perfect materials from a shop.
    Most of all we do our selves with a little help from family, friends en hopefully also workawayers.

    A great help is coming over in may, our nephew Kees, a 19 year old nice guy from Holland. He will stay a few weeks and we think that it would be nice if one or two workawayers can also come in that period. The extra hands will be great and the company is very welcoming.

    We are open persons, always busy , but also always open for a nice evening, a nice meal, talk or day out. There is a lot to do on our property, but we don't espect that you want or can do anything. The buildingproject on the house will be the main project this summer, so it would be nice if you are interested in that.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide dans une ferme
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    If you want, we can tell and learn you a lot about our animals, our nursery and plants and our buildingexperience.
    We speak 4 languages, ( Dutch, Englisch and German pretty good and French is learned every day a bit more. If you want, we can learn you a language, we can tell you about gears and buildingskills and we can show the area.
    We use sustainable, local and ecological materials on our building site, we know a lot about it and have more then 15 years of experience with these kind of materials. We can learn you how to use the materials and use the maschines to built with it.
    Also , when you are interested, we can tell a lot about our alpaca's, you can help and learn how to sheer and take care of them.
    Our nursury is pure biological based, we use our own manure , we make our own compost for the plants and also make compost out of our own worm manure. We can tell you all about it and show and learn you how our animals and plants are co-operate in a cycle of sustainable business.
    Just tell us where you are interested in and we give you the possibility to learn and know more about it.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Our house is built with big rocks and slates on the roof. Doors and windows needs to be renewed and an extension is on the program this summer.
    We use our big saw to saw beams from the trees, we use ecologique materials for the roofing underneath the slates and whatever we can re-use, we will.
    The windows, for example, are used windows from another house. It's a different way of building and needs an open mind to do it like this.

    Every kind of help is welcome, if you only want to mow the grass, it's fine, that gives us time for other things.



    Rob has a lot of experience with all the buildings stuff and he can teach you a lot, he likes to explain things and is open for other opinions and ideas.

    Because of Kees his age, it would be nice if you are also in your early twenties.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Hollandais: Courant
    Français: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We are Dutch and speak it fluent, we lived in Germany for 12 years and speak almost fluently German also. Our Englisch is good and our French is daily improved, but not yet fluent. But we can manage and it would be good for us to speak more French.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have 2 little caravans where can be slept in. The 2 caravans stand together, about 100 meter from our place and will have a terras, a little garden and a great view.
    An shower and toilet is there, shared with eachother and we will make sure that there will be bread, breakfast, drinks and so on. Dinner will be cooked by us and we would like to eat all together. We are not vegetarian, but try to eat honest meat and healthy food.
    We eat everything, but ofcourse you can say so if there is something you don't eat or want.
    You can also come with two persons, friends, brothers, lovers, everything is fine, but when you come in the period that Kees is here, then you need to share the caracvan for sleeping with each other, because Kees will sleep in the other.
    One or two persons of Kees his age in the month of mai would be fantastic.

    We provide breakfast , lunch and diner.
    When there is a different rythem of getting up in the morning, you can eat your breakfast like you want. Bread, tea, milk, fruit, whatever you prefer, it's there and you can take it like you wish.
    Lunch and diner would be nice to have together and ofcourse, we make sure it would be something you like or want.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our days will be filled with the nursery and the building on the house, but ofcourse we don't espect that from you. We will talk daily about the things to do and you can tell us what you would like and when. We have 2 bikes that can be used and we can take (or bring) you for some sight seeing. The worldfamous Mont St. Michel is an half hour drive.
    It is a rural area, no city on walking distance. A pub is nearby.
    We don't go out very often, but we like to visit the coast, have a drink on a terrace or have a meal in a restaurant.
    You can also use our gears and materials for your own project if you are inspired or creative.

    We do smoke, but only outside and we will get out of your way. We have a big garden and terrain, so that's no problem.
    Kees doesn't smoke and he doesn't like it.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il aimait accueillir les digital nomads.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have a big terrain and a campervan or motorhome is very welcome.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, we will talk about our programm daily, so there will not be any misunderstanding.

N° de référence hôte : 346894666618

Photos

Feedback