1 / 5

Help me with creating a blog and learn about homesteading in Castelo, Portugal

  • Enregistré comme favori 24 fois
  • Activité récente: 13 janv. 2023



 Séjour min. souhaité : Pas de minimum



  • Description


    We are a Portuguese - German family living a farmstead life in central Portugal. Me, my husband and our two sons (12 and 8 years) live in a house nextdoors to my eldery parents.

    The farm has been in my family since many generations and now I'm dreaming of making a blog about everything we do here in the farm: preserves, bread, cheese, olive oil, wine (and other non alcoholic drinks), including what we do in our regenerative vegetable garden (compost, mulching, seed saving, plant propagation...) as well as eco-friendly homemade products for the house, animal care and medicinal herbs.

    We cultivate a great variety of fruit and vegetables from more conventional to more exoctic ones like avocados, passion fruit, pitangas, anonas, sweet potatoes and okra. Recently we have even made flour from chickpeas, chestnuts (that we harvested, smoked and grinded) and carob pods, all of those from our land!

    If you are looking to immerse in a rural portuguese setting and experience living with Portuguese nationals (with an international background), we'll be glad to host you. We eat mainly ovo-lacto-vegetarian food but if you like, you will also sometimes be able to try some typical local or national dishes that can include meat or fish, that my parents will be happy to share. With us, you will enjoy a daily homemade organic meal with fresh vegetables from the garden and a great experience of homemade pizza on a cob build (with local clay) wood fired oven.

    Although the kind of help I need is suitable for one person, small families with kids are also welcome, our children will be happy. In case two adults are comming, we ask for a little help with the garden, cooking, or with the animals (no building or stable cleaning involved unless you really would like to). The person that will help me with the blog will need to speak English or Portuguese because my German is not good enough.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide informatique/internet
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In exchange for your knowladge, we can teach you many of our homesteading skills. As mentioned before, preserving, bread making with sourdough starter, yogurt and cheese making, setting up and maintaining a regenerative garden (with permaculture and food forest concepts), herbal medicine and so on...

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    I'm looking for someone to help me set up a blog about homestead.

    My computer skills are quite basic but a year ago I managed to teach myself enough (after many, many days learning on how-to pages...) to be able to start a page with Bluehost (I haven't made it available online yet). Now, a lot of time has passed since I last did anything there and I fear I forgot many things about the settings of the pages. I'm feeling overwhelmed with the idea of starting to do this alone. Because of that, I would love to find someone that could teach me how to make a blog in a way that I can later continue to develop the contents independently.

    I like the style of the american homesteading blogs with their very informative texts and beautiful pictures. They have inspired me for many years and now I would love to do something similar because I don´t find anything like this in portuguese blogs (there aren't many good portuguese blogs about this subject). I'd love also to inspire other people to make things from scratch, from what nature gives to us, because they are simple to achieve yet fulfilling to the soul.

    The page I have in mind will be simple, informative and bi-lingual, to target not only portuguese speaking people but also foreigners that in the last decade have come to «live the good life» in Portugal, many of whom aiming to be self-sufficient on their farms and would like to know what is possible in our climate.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    My older son would like to learn French and we could teach you Portuguese and German.

  • Hébergement


    You will stay in an independent 1 bedroom house with 1 bathroom and a fully furnished kitchen / living-room.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Sertã is a lovely rural town where you will find many amenities and services. Here, as well as in the whole region, there are many streams and rivers with cooling beaches with cafes, bars or restaurants. Perfect to relax from a busy city life.

    Sertã has a bus station with connections to Lisbon, Coimbra and Porto.

    From our farm there are not many bus connections into town (Sertã) but the taxi is not expensive and we will, of course, take you with us whenever we go shopping or just to enjoy the river beach.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    There is wiffi connection at the guest house but it is not great.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    3 - 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 344178297125

Feedback (1)