West Coast living on Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 218 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.04.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    82.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 20 jours

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 2 semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there! My name is Joy.

    I have a beautiful home on 8 acres, surrounded by nature, on Vancouver Island, British Columbia. I am looking to host one or two people at a time. The help required during your stay will vary between cooking, help in our indoor garden and housekeeping.

    Our indoor garden you can learn new skills such as cloning, pruning and transplanting. Already have a green thumb and want to teach us new skills? That would be a bonus!

    There is a small orchard, which has been neglected for a few years, I would love to see some life back in there.

    Hours are flexible but may require longer hours with more days off.

    I have a large dog named Classy and a tabby cat named Hobbes. At the moment, my daughter is staying with me as well, with her puppy Jade and cat Little Grey. We are in the process of building a cabin above one of the ponds on the property that she will be moving into so, if you have construction skills that is a bonus!

    My daughter and I are into healthy eating, gluten free and vegetarian. We enjoy a glass of wine or two in the evenings, love sitting around our bonfire out by the cookhouse, meditating in the mornings with everyone and hiking.

    We are located, 15 minutes from Skutz Falls, a beautiful river you can hike along; 20 minutes from Mount Tzouhelum trail head, it will take you up to breathtaking views overlooking the Cowichan Valley, 25 minutes from a beautiful, lake and only 10 minutes from the heart of downtown Duncan.

    I have hosted many Workawayes over the last 4 years, many of whom, have come back 2-3 times and 2 who have stayed for over 7 months. Ideally, I am looking for 2-4 week stays, but open to longer stays if it is the right fit for everyone.

    Looking forward to connecting with you soon!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I am happy to help you with your english and show you around the Cowichan Valley. My kids live close and often, 2-3 times a month, go on adventures to the West Coast beaches in Port Renfrew.
    My son and his wife live 2 minutes away and they often host 2-3 Workawayers at a time. We have dinners and gatherings almost weekly, where you would meet many new faces from all parts of the world.
    Come see us on the West Coast, you will not regret it!

  • Aide

    Aide

    *Bringing life back into the orchard as it has been neglected for a few years and general yard maintenance/clean up.
    *Indoor garden maintenance
    *Cooking lunches and dinners, preferably vegetarian and gluten free.
    *Housekeeping - helping with weekly chores; vacuuming, washing floors, washing windows, cleaning bathrooms and daily chores; keeping the kitchen clean etc.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have your own bedroom with a shared bathroom.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Hiking and exploring the west coast of Canada. Victoria, B.C. is only a 40 minute bus ride away. Kayaking, swimming, bowling, indoor rock climbing, camping, live local music ...
    There is a bus stop a few minutes from my house that could get you into town. If I am not using my vehicle you are welcome to borrow it for short day trips if needed.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







N° de référence hôte : 316645846451