Live in a greenhouse oasis and help us with our family projects in Belfair, Washington state, USA

Country

États-Unis

Enregistré comme favori 65 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    01.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are the Berg family! Welcome to our page. :)

    We live on 16 acres in Belfair, Washington. We have three houses on the property and always have numerous projects going on including construction, keeping up with the several dozen chickens and ducks, maintaining a 2500 square foot green house, woodworking, canning, and maintaining the homestead. As our six, now adult kids, (ages 18-30) have grown and three of them have moved away, our projects have continued to expand while our helpers have dwindled. We are passionate about composting, gardening, and making beautiful spaces for hosting and community. In addition to maintaining the land, we love creative projects; last year Joe built an outdoor pizza/bread oven and when some of our kids are home they love spending time in our small pottery studio with a wheel and a small kiln.

    We always enjoy meeting new people and practicing hospitality in our home. We both love to cook and try to incorporate freshly grown produce into our meals. Life is a great gift, and our Christian faith is important to us. We love good conversations, lots of music, board and card games, working together on projects and the reward of a job well-done. We look forward to hearing from you about how we could create an experience that would best fit the work and exploration experiences you are looking for.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We love learning from other cultures and other people's experiences and backgrounds. We have found our many long term exchange students to provide such a rich opportunity for fellowship. We are a very welcoming family and passionate about our little farm life and the work that we do. Joe has decades of building and woodworking experience, while Rachel has many years of agriculture experience. We love to learn from others and share our knowledge and experiences. We welcome the workaway to join us in work, volleyball, hiking, impromptu music, or swing dance. We have hosted many adults and teenagers over the years from Japan, China, Spain and England, we look forward to learning and sharing life together with others.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Some of the projects we are looking at completing this summer include:
    - Weeding and maintaining greenhouse and garden spaces.
    - Harvesting greenhouse produce and fruit trees. Canning, dehydrating, and preserving fruits and vegetables. This is for our personal family use and not for selling. (We do have a small roadside stand for eggs and flowers, but the work away would not be involved in this.
    - Splitting wood. Mulching. Composting.
    - Building projects including a barn renovation and siding an outbuilding.
    - Tiling a kitchen floor
    - Seed starting, transplanting vegetables
    - Pruning trees, bushes. Mowing the lawn, helping with burn piles.
    -Cooking some meals to share, helping set up for an outdoor party, hosting friends

    Joe and Rachel would be working with the homestay on these projects. You would be trained to use tools, equipment and organic gardening principles. Depending on the experience and time frame of the homestay, there may be room to explore independent and creative opportunities.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will be staying in an 80sf room connected to our large greenhouse. Double french doors open up to the vast expanse of over 200 tomato plants and colorful cut flowers. There is electricity, a ceiling fan, heater, full bed. Also adjacent to the greenhouse is a full dining room with microwave, mini fridge, and hotplate. Directly next door to the greenhouse is a covered area that we call the "Arbor", it has a wood burning fireplace, couches and lights to sit, rest or play music. There is a composting toilet and sink with cold water. Wifi available from the room. A hot shower would be available at any time in our main house. The people we have had stay in this little greenhouse oasis have loved the experience of waking up surrounded by the fresh air of a multitude of plants. The space is a big upgrade from tent camping, but not as fancy as a hotel room.

    For food we often eat meals together, depending on everyones' schedules. You will be welcome to join us for any meal, or have your own personal time for meals. We try to eat breakfast by 830, lunch at noon and dinner at 6pm. We welcome guests cooking in our kitchen and love sharing food together. (Much of our diet in the summer consists of produce off the land).

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    You are welcome to use of our pottery studio while you are here. We also have a small river on our property which is fun to walk along and explore in the summer months.
    We often have people over in the summer months, potlucks, bonfires with music and hanging out time. You would have opportunities to meet new friends if you are interested. We are a drug free, pot free, no smoking home.

    During the weekdays, we have a local county bus that is steps away from our front door. It is a 20 minute ride to the Bremerton to Seattle ferry, providing easy exploration opportunities for the city. From our doorstop to downtown Seattle is a beautiful 1.5 hr trip.

    The small town of Belfair is 3 miles away providing groceries and beautiful walking trails. You can bus or borrow bikes to Belfair. We also have kayaks potentially available for local use in the Belfair salt water or fresh water lakes.

    A local archery range is less than 1 mile away.

    We love to hike and go on day trips to the surrounding Olympics, Cascades, and Mt Rainier National Forests. Depending on interests and timing we would love to take you on day trips to explore the beauty around where we live!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We could make space for this and provide electrical hook up, if needed.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








N° de référence hôte : 312592182754