1 / 4
mis à jour  

Venez m'aider chez moi, bercé dans une ambiance musicale, à Georgetown en Malaisie

  • Enregistré comme favori 112 fois
  • Activité récente: 18 juil. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    At the moment, these are things that needed help the most.
    * Painting parts of the new and old home
    * Assisting in moving home
    * Cleaning the home

    Hello Workawayers, I am Michelle, a teacher. I teach mainly music (Piano, Violin and Singing), and also Mathematics. I also run a small touring side hustle.

    My home is the most suitable for those who are eager to experience a typical Malaysian life in a local neighbourhood.

    I live in a local government housing area. The people who lives here are low income people. In my building, you will see many local people and the way of their daily life. I am located in Georgetown, Penang Island. My building is very near the sea.

    On fridays, saturdays and sundays, children come to my home to learn music. So, you will get to observe the children and might be able to interact with them. You are however not allowed to take photos of the children to protect their privacy. You are allowed to play music on weekdays 10am - 8pm only

    I have reduced mobility as I have partially torn 6 of my ligaments in both knees. I cannot stand for a long period of time, walk a long distance, kneel and squat. Therefore, I do not go out much unless if I have to. During my free time, I draw and colour, read books and swim.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Bricolage et construction
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The place where is stay is just a 3km walk to the city center and UNESCO Heritage Site. It is very convenient and bus 12 goes there.
    There are many museums in the heritage area to visit.

    You can learn about my country and culture by staying in a local government flat. My neighbours from my block consist mainly of people from lower income people. You get to observe their life. You will also get to interact with the local children who comes to my place to learn. You can have conversations with the children.

    I offer music lessons (Piano, Violin and Singing) to workawayer at a discounted rate. Minimum 4 hours lesson a week. Write to me and I will tell you more about this if you are interested in lessons.

  • Aide


    Description of help needed.

    Painting the home (Help needed on Saturday, Sunday and one weekday)
    - Painting the ceiling, wall, doors, gate for new and old place. Clean up after painting.

    Assisting in moving home (Help needed on Saturday, Sunday and one weekday)
    - We are in the midst of moving to a new place which is only 350meters opposite. We need a lot of help to paint the new and old place, moving boxes and assembling racks.

    Teaching a child English / Mandarin (Help needed on Saturday, Sunday, and 2 weekdays)
    For helping the child with English and Mandarin, you need to help for at least 2 weekends, (i.e, 2 fridays, 2 saturdays and 2 sundays)

    - Helping a child with English
    English is the 2nd language in Malaysia. Thus, you need to have a good grasp of grammar, and have at least C1 level of English. Preference will be given to liberal arts major. This child responds well to younger people.

    - Helping one child with Mandarin,
    Must be a native speaker or have at least HSK 6, this child is sheepish and responds well to younger people, age 25 and below, you must be enthusiastic to read to her.

    - Teaching Swimming
    Teaching me swimming. I am doing swimming as part of my rehabilitation. You need to be a qualified swimming teacher with experience.

    Help at home
    - Cleaning and organizing, decluttering
    - Sorting things
    - Cleaning Kitchen
    - Cleaning Bathroom and Toilet
    - Cleaning windows, doors, walls and ceiling.
    - Vacuum the entire place, arranging things
    - Car wash

    Eco project (Not available in july - november 2024)
    - Remove labels of glass jars and plastic containers, these jars and containers must be very clean, and these will be sent to people who use these jars and containers to put food and sell.

    I am looking for someone young and vibrant, age 35 and below, honest, patient , punctual, has humility, reliable, sensible, far sighted, health conscious, healthy, physically fit,early bird, passionate about working and enthusiastic to learn new things. For everyone's safety here on workaway, you must have your ID verification on workaway. For teaching help to the child, I prefer workawayers with 2 positive references from previous host.

    I STRICTLY do not host children, smokers, drug user, and people who use profanity and also those who do not bother to read my profile.

    Depending on the days and tasks, tasks in the mornings start as early as 9am. Task at night ends at 9pm. I will write you a schedule and we can discuss about it.

    I do not have Wifi at home. If you need to be constantly on the internet, this is not a place for you.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Malay: Courant
    Allemand: Intermédiaire
    Chinois (mandarin): Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    My language proficiency are as below Malay My national language and I am a native speaker English The 2nd language in Malaysia and my proficiency is C1. Chinese - Mandarin My 3rd language and my proficiecy is B2 German Completed B1. Chinese (Other dialects) Speak Teochew and Hokkien fluently. Could understand and speak some Cantonese. Improving and learning German is my priority. I have no interest to learn other languages as I have no time to practice a new language.

  • Hébergement


    Minimum stay is 7 days. Preference given to those who could stay at least 15 days. Maximum stay is 20 days. My work schedule changes every 2 weeks, so I could only confirm your stay 2 weeks in advance.

    I provide accomodation without meals as I have no time to cook for you. You have to buy your own meals. Light cooking is only allowed in my kitchen.

    Your room has mattress, pillow, blanket, light, fan, plants, window, and piano.

    I will write out a weekly schedule for you depending on the hourly agreement. This is a guideline and you can shift around the hours depending on your preference. I will ask you to keep track of the hours that you work. There are generally three days off a week. If you want more days off a week, you can work longer hours other days.

    You are only allowed to cook vegetarian food in my home. Light cooking only. No cooking with oil. No frying, no deep frying.

    I have no time to cook for you. There are many food sold outside my place.

    Your responsibilities :
    When you live with me, you will be treated like a family. Therefore , it is your responsibility to keep the place that you stay clean.
    - Vacuum the home at least twice a week.
    - Change the bedsheets and pillow cases before you leave, put the used bedsheet, pillow case and blanket in the laundry basket and I will wash them, so that the next guest will have clean place to live. Do not do unto others what you dont want them to do

    Keeping the common place tidy :
    - pick up your hair after you shower and throw in the rubbish bin
    - clean up the kitchen and dining table after using.
    - arrange books back into the shelf after reading.

    Coming by train is the safest way. Take a train to Butterworth. From butterworth, walk and take the ferry to go to Penang island.
    Once you reach the island, from the Jetty , take Bus number 12 to Ocean View. You can also walk for 3km if you do not want to take the bus.

    If you take bus or flight to penang, take any bus that goes to Komtar or Jetty. From jetty or komtar, take bus 12 to Ocean View. I will meet you at this bus stop. My home is right there. I do not provide my home address, therefore, if you are travelling internationally, you have to be responsible for the arrival card.

    - do not offer meat and seafood to me
    - You are only allowed to cook vegetarian food in my home.
    - You are NOT allowed to use oil to cook in my place. Only light cooking is allowed. (No deep-frying, no frying)
    - Dress code : Shower everyday, wear clean clothes and dress modestly during weekends when the children are around for class. Remove body piercings, cover excessive tattoos.

    As I teach music in my home and have children coming to my home, you have to be understanding that children are noisy!! You must be comfortable being around rambunctious children.

    Understand that I work 6 and half days so you have to be very independant. My job is busy. On some days, I work as early as 9am and finish work at 9pm. However, I will find time to spend with you, take you out for food and to teach you as much as you can learn.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I have hosted on Workaway since 2017 and receive many applications on a weekly basis. I consider each application carefully and will decline any copy and paste application, any candidate that has not fulfilled the requirements as stated above and applicants who does not answer the questions below. Your profile, CV, and your first message is very impotant to stand out among the rest.

    As I have many children here, you must have at least 1 positive reference from past host if you are applying for a teaching position. For those who are new here, you can apply for non teaching position. As I am very busy, do not expect me to conduct a video call/ phone call interview with you. I only correspond here after you answered all the questions below and will only send you my location once your stay is confirmed.

    Please include the following in your message, to show that you have read everything in my profile
    - Exact Arrival and departure date, time. How are you coming? By bus, train flight?
    - Minimum and Maximum length of stay.(Minumum 7 days ,Maximum stay is 20 days)
    - Highest level of education
    - Type of work that you prefer to do.
    - Hobbies and interest
    - Whatsapp number
    - Why do you choose Penang as a destination? And why do you want to work at my place?
    - What is your biggest fear, what can you not do, and how are you going to improve that?
    - How can my work / home make you a better person?

    I live in a Muslim country, and a muslim neighbourhood, so please dress according to the custom. Please refrain from wearing revealing clothing such as: showing your butt crack and cleavage. No excessive piercing, no gothic or punk style. People here are more conservative. If you have excessive tattoos, wear clothes that cover some of your tattoo.Do not eat pork in front of my Muslim neighbors. Be respectful to them.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    15 hours a week

N° de référence hôte : 755762199855

Feedback (20)



Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Enjoy traditional local foods and cultural while helping at my place near George Town, Malaysia